Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

SOCI 691H/692H: Honors Thesis in Sociology: Research Process

Research Design and Reference

Sage Research Methods
Library of research methods tools. Learn about quantitative and qualitative methods in the Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, practice data analysis, and use the Project Planner tool to organize research projects. Also included are social research case studies, videos, datasets for teaching and instruction, and analytical tools.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology
Encyclopedia of sociology terms covering contemporary knowledge and classical sociology with global coverage.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Current information only
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of reference books and encyclopedias in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of subjects, from the arts to medicine, and from multicultural studies to social science. You can search one title at a time, up to 10 titles that you select, or by broad grouping such as biography, education, or history.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: 1999 -

Library Data Services

Library Data Services cater to researchers interested in working with data, mapping, texts, visualization, and technology. Many of these services are available online. Davis Library Data Services, located on the second floor of Davis Library, offers:

A computing lab with specialized software for GIS and data visualization & analysis.
Walk-in assistance provided by knowledgeable student consultants during set hours.
Consultations with specialists for more in-depth inquiries (by appointment).
Spaces for collaboration and presentation, complete with white boards and external displays.
Technology short courses and programs that promote digital scholarship. .

The Odum Institute

They provide quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods services, training, and consulting. They are a great resource if you are designing a survey, conducting interviews or if you are interested in taking a short course on social science research.

Odum Institute has moved to 123 W. Franklin St., Ste. 330A
Hours: 9AM – 5PM, Email: oduminstitute@unc.edu

Interlibrary Loan

Other library research guides

Census Data Resources
by Michele Hayslett Last Updated Apr 23, 2025 487 views this year
Tests and Measures
by Shannon Delaney Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 724 views this year

Writing & Citing

What Makes a Good Research Question?
Handout from Duke University's (yes, Duke) Thompson Writing Program Writing Studio. Has guidelines and examples of research questions.

Writing

UNC Writing Center has in-person, online & asynchronous consultation available.

Writing guides

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

Guide to Citing Data - This guide provides guidance on how to construct a citation for data. Doing so is important to acknowledge the work of others if the data is not your own but, even if it is your own, to enable others to find (and perhaps re-use) your data.

Make a Zotero consultation appointment

Social Sciences Librarian

Kristan Shawgo

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Davis Library
UNC-Chapel Hill
Available for meetings on Zoom

Subjects: Communication, Public Policy, Sexuality Studies, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies

Library presentation

Google Slides