Skip to main content

Finding Songs: Browse Shelves and Online

Browse Online by Subject

In the library catalog, the SUBJECT searches below will yield material related to solo vocal music (this is not a complete list).

Remember to use the options on the left side of the results page to refine your search by format or other parameter(s): Music Score, Music Recording, Subject (Sacred songs (Medium voice) with piano, Vocal duets with piano), etc.:

in Subject: Movies -- excerpts -- vocal scores with piano

in Subject: Musicals - excerpts -- vocal scores with piano

in Subject: Song cycles

in Subject: Songs (High voice)

in Subject: Songs (Low voice)

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice)

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with chamber orchestra

in Subject: Songs (Low voice) with chamber orchestra

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with chamber orchestra

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with continuo

in Subject: Songs (Low voice) with continuo

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with continuo

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with guitar

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with guitar

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with instrumental ensemble

in Subject: Songs (Low voice) with instrumental ensemble

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with instrumental ensemble

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with orchestra

in Subject: Songs (Low voice) with orchestra

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with orchestra

in Subject: Songs (High voice) with piano

in Subject: Songs (Low voice) with piano

in Subject: Songs (Medium voice) with piano

in Subject: Vocal duets with piano

in Subject: Vocal trios with piano

If you find a piece you want in the catalog, click on the Subjects tab in the record to see similar works.

A complete list of subject headings can be found in Music Subject Headings, which is bound in red and kept on the index table in the Reference Room. Subject headings for voice begin on page 471.

UNC Catalog Search with Links

Advanced Search | New Books | WorldCat

Browse the Shelves: The call number links in this box are temporarily disabled until that function of the library catalog is restored. We apologize for the inconvenience!

Because printed music and books are classified -- that is, grouped with similar items on the shelf -- browsing can be an effective method for finding what you want.

If you're looking for vocal music in a particular medium, these classifications can guide you in the stacks (this is NOT a complete list!):

By Library of Congress Call Number:

M1495 Collections of sacred and secular vocal music
M1500 Full scores of operas and musicals
M1503 Piano-vocal scores of operas and musicals
M1507 Opera and musical anthologies
M1508 Vocal selections from musicals and operas
M1527 Motion picture and television music
M1528     Solo voices and orchestral ensembles
M1529 Solo voices, unaccompanied or with keyboard
M1613 Voice with orchestra or other large ensemble
M1619 Collections of 2 or more composers
M1619.5 Specific poets
M1620 Collections by a single composer
M1621 Separate works
M1621.4 Song cycles
M1623 Songs accompanied by one non-piano instrument
M1630.18 Popular music collections
M1670 Spirituals
M2000 Full scores of oratorios
M2003 Piano-vocal scores of oratorios
M2110 Sacred collections by multiple composers
M2112 Sacred collections by one composer
M2113 Sacred separate works
M2113.4 Sacred song cycles

M2117

 

Hymnals

 

ML Literature on music
ML49 Librettos to operas and musicals (multiple works)
ML50 Librattos to operas and musicals (sinlge works)
ML54 Translations of musical works
ML128.S3 Song bibliographies
ML128.V7 Song bibliographies
ML410 Composer bibliographies
ML420 Singer biographies
ML1700+ About opera
ML1711 About musicals

ML2800+

 

About songs

 

MT Music instruction and study
MT820+ Vocal technique and/or pedagogy
MT883 Diction
MT885 Vocalises
MT955+ Dramatic production and performance

 

By Dewey Decimal Call Number: M784+ Vocal music

Recent Titles

  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2020 11:14 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/songs
Subjects: Music