Statistics & Operations Research: Handbooks, Data & Standards
Handbooks
Glossary of Statistical Terms
A free online dictionary of statistical terms hosted by OECD.
Handbook of Decision Analysis [online]
A guide to decision analysis, including modelling, risk assessment, and implementation.
- SAGE Research MethodsThis database contains a wide variety of reference resources on quantitative and qualitative research methods in the social and natural sciences.
Finding Data
These are just a few of the resources you can use to locate research data. Please contact us for assistance.
Guidelines for citing data sets vary; see specific data resources for more information about citations, or construct one with advice from our Citing Data guide.
- China Statistical Data (WANFANG DATA)China Statistics provides 7 databases on China urban studies, which are 1) China City Statistics, 2) China Energy Statistics, 3) China Health Statistics, 4) China Land and Resources Statistics, 5) China Regional Economy Statistics, 6) China Transportation Statistics, 7) China Urban-Rural Construction Statistics. Resources can be searched in English and Chinese.
Note: Click on 'Enter the Databases' in upper right corner to access these resources. Click on Chinese symbol button in upper right corner to switch to Chinese and En button to switch to English - DimensionsWe do NOT subscribe but rather only have access to the free version. Includes not only publication citations but also grants, patents and more. Just added in February 2018 - consider beta.
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated. - Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- IPUMSAccess to all microdata projects of the Minnesota Population Center. Includes U.S. and international Census microdata for many years; and a variety of other topics: international health; Current Population Survey; time use; environmental and mapping (including, again, international data); and higher education.
- University Libraries' List of Statistical ResourcesSome free databases included, but primarily subscription resources available only to UNC affiliates.
- U.S. Census: Understanding the DataProvides overview of various Census tools and when to choose which. Links to overview of subjects included, questionnaire archives and technical documentation.
Finding Repositories in which to Find Data
- DataCite SearchIf you're not sure what to search, try the Advanced Search interface to get some ideas.
- FigshareFigshare is a web service that makes data "citable, searchable, and shareable." Research data in a variety of formats is freely available through the figshare search tool and is protected under a Creative Commons copyright license.
- NIH Data Sharing RepositoriesA summary of data repositories supported by the NIH, with information about how to submit and access datasets from NIH-funded research.
- re3data
- Global registry of research data repositories.
- Consolidated registry of Databib and re3data.org.
- Subject area is broad including the humanities, sciences, medicine and technology.
- Useful for finding appropriate repositories for the storage and access of data sets.
Standards
- IEEE XploreSearch IEEE publications, including all current IEEE standards.
- ISO: International Organization for StandardizationSearch and purchase technical reports and standards from the international standards body.
- NIST: National Institute of Standards and TechnologyThis physical science and technology laboratory is a branch of the U.S. Department of Commerce and publishes standards and technical reports.
NIST also provides a guide to searching for global standards information.
