Teaching with Primary Sources: Visiting Wilson Library

How can I visit Wilson Library?

Wilson Special Collections Library is available for use by the public, not just UNC staff and students. However, visiting a special collections library may be confusing if you have never been there before. We will cover two ways that instructors can utilize visiting Wilson Library to incorporate primary sources into their class plans: instruction sessions and viewing physical materials.

Instruction at Wilson

As part of the Research and Instruction Services, Wilson Library offers instruction sessions to groups that would like to receive librarian-led, primary source-based learning at the the library. There is space for larger groups to gather where librarians and archivists lead instruction sessions. Some of the groups that Wilson has served over the years include:

• faculty and students in a range of classes across UNC-Chapel Hill programs
• faculty and students from other colleges and universities
• K-12 teachers and students from across the state of North Carolina
• community groups with an interest in special collections

Staff work with interested groups to develop and/or tailor sessions to the learning objectives identified for the instruction session. While this section focuses on instruction at the library, the range of services offered through the library also include virtual possibilities. Instruction and learning services include:

• consultations with instructors about possible assignments and lessons using primary sources
• online displays of relevant special collections materials
• virtual activities in which students observe, analyze, and interpret primary sources
• guided discussions about a set of primary sources related to the course topic or theme
• semester-long engagements in which students curate a physical or virtual exhibit
• special collections research guides

To schedule an instruction session, instructors and/or group coordinators should fill out the instruction request form several weeks in advance of the preferred date of the session. This allows library instruction staff adequate time to collaborate and plan a successful and engaging instruction session!

Wilson Library Reading Room

While learners are able to engage with physical primary sources during scheduled instruction sessions as described above, instructors may want to implement assignments that require student research with primary sources. This is a great option for students to learn not only how to evaluate primary sources, but how to utilize them as evidence in their research and writing.

In order for someone to view physical materials outside of an instruction session, they would need to request materials and visit the library in person. All physical primary source materials at Wilson Library are only able to be viewed in the "reading room," or the room designated for visitors to view materials. The reading room always has staff available to give overviews of reading room etiquette, how to handle materials safely, and answer visitors' questions.

In order to view materials in the reading room, visitors need to register for an account with the library and request materials. This means, for example, if an instructor wanted to bring students to the library for independent research, the instructor and any students would need to create their own accounts and request materials in advance of their visit. It is not always possible for library staff to retrieve materials for "walk-in" appointments, so the best way to visit the library is to plan your visit and select the materials you want to use.

Sometimes you or your students may discover in reviewing the requested materials that there are related materials that would be helpful to review or the materials did not contain the information you had hoped to find. In the case that you need to request additional materials, feel welcome to talk with the staff at the reading room reference desk (this is the staff area you pass as soon as you walk into the reading room). Staff can assist you in your search for related or new materials, or can suggest potential collections for specific information. Depending on staff availability, they may even be able to retrieve requested materials the same day. If not, staff can assist with directing you on next steps for creating another appointment to come back and continue viewing materials.

Below, we will cover how to register for an account with the library and how to request materials to view in the reading room at Wilson Library.

All archival materials and most North Carolina Collection materials may only be used in our secure reading room. To access Wilson Special Collections Library’s collections, all researchers must register and create a research account.

To begin the registration process, please select an option below:

• UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University students, faculty, and staff may register by logging in with a valid UNC Onyen or Duke NetID.

• All other researchers may register by creating a username and password here.

If you are not affiliated with either UNC-Chapel Hill or Duke University, be sure to write down your username and password, as this information will be required each time you make a request for special collections material.

The first time you visit Wilson Library after completing your online pre-registration and creating a Request System account, you will need to complete the registration process by showing a staff member a government issued photo ID containing (1) your name, (2) your date of birth, and (3) an expiration date, and having your picture taken with our digital camera for inclusion in our database.