The Sloane Art Library houses the Artists' Book Collection in addition to other special collections materials including self-published photobooks and illuminated manuscript facsimiles. Rare items held by the Art Library are identifiable in the online catalog by their location "Art Library Cage" or "Art Library Cage Annex." The Art Library is located within the Hanes Art Center. If you have questions about rare materials at the Art Library, contact library staff at (919) 962-2397.
School of Government's Knapp Library houses the Ann Beal Sanders Archive and Rare Book Suite. The Rare Book Suite contains governors' papers, colonial records, municipal and county histories, North Carolina Manuals, and a complete set of the Records of the Moravians in North Carolina. The archive portion of the suite consists of a complete set of all School of Government publications, such as Popular Government, Daily Bulletin, and Planning Legislation in North Carolina. The archive also houses the School of Government photo collection. The Knapp Library is located in the Knapp-Sanders Building and is open to the public. Contact the library staff at (919) 962-2760.
The SILS: Information & Library Science Library houses two special collections: the Juvenile Historical Collection and the Pop-Up Book Collection. Both of these collections are identified in the online catalog as being in the "Information & Library Science Library Cage" and may be requested at the Information & Library Science Library reference desk. Caged materials may not circulate outside of the Information & Library Science Library. For more information, please contact library staff at (919) 962-8361 or firstname.lastname@example.org. The SILS: Information & Library Science Library is located in Manning Hall.
The Park Library contains the Park Library (School of Media & Journalism) Historical Collection. This collection contains printed works from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The Park Library is located in Room 265 in Carroll Hall.
In 2019 the Health Sciences Library History Collection moved to Wilson Special Collections Library and became part of the Rare Book Collection. The Health Sciences History Collection contains materials related to the history of medicine and is described in the online catalog as the Health Sciences History collection. It contains over 400 books printed before 1800, archival collections and medical realia. Materials in the Health Sciences History collection include:
The Kathrine R. Everett Law Library serves its rare book collection out of its Rare Book Room. The Law Library rare book room is accessible by appointment only. The Law Library contains over 400 books printed before 1800. In the online catalog, the location of rare items are identified as in the "Law Library Rare Books Room." Researchers may request to work with these materials by filling out an Access Request Form.
The Music Library houses over 5,500 rare items. These items are described in the online catalog as being located in the "Music Library Vault." A full catalog of these items is available here. To request items listed in the online catalog, click the "Request" button on the right side of the catalog record. Music Library Vault items do not circulate and are served in Wilson Special Collections Library's research room. The research room is located one floor above the Music Library. For further information about the collection, contact Music Library staff at (919) 966-1113. For information about accessing the collection, contact Wilson Special Collections Library staff at email@example.com.