Writing in the Health Sciences For Faculty and Students: For Academic/Scholarly Careers

The first edition of this book (titled "The Clinician's Guide to Medical Writing") has become a standard in its field and remains an indispensible reference for any clinician, academic physician, or health professional who wishes to hone their writing skills.

This book is for any clinician who wants to write. It is for clinicians who see patients and also want to contribute to the medical literature. Loaded with practical advice and real-world examples, this text benefits readers who are new to medical writing and those who have authored a few articles or chapters and want to improve.

A writing guide that goes beyond grammar and style by demonstrating how to pull together the information needed for each section of a polished scientific paper. This book is a systematic guide, leading you from the data on your desk through the drafts and rewrites that are needed to build a complete and tightly-written science article.

For post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective grant proposals. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals. Is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.

Straightforward format, a chapter covering each of part of the structured abstract, making it easy to use for any novice paper writer. Addresses the mechanics of submission, from electronic submission, and how publishers handle papers, writing letters to journals, abstracts for scientific meetings, and assessing papers. New edition also covers how to write a book review and updated chapters on ethics, electronic publication and submission, and the movement for open access.

Practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles plus other communication-related aspects of a scientific career, an insider's view of how journals actually work. Explains step-by-step how to decide where to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process.

Provides technical assistance for researchers applying for biobehavioral and psychosocial research funding. Tips on all aspects of grantsmanship. Focus is on Public Health Service funding, but useful more broadly, including for service providers in community-based organizations and agencies competing for grant funds from state and community resources, non-government organizations, and foundations.

New edition offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics.

This book is organized as a practical guide to writing a biomedical research article, focusing on the writing and submission of manuscripts for research articles. This concise, easy-to-use guide was created for biomedical researchers, undergraduate and graduate students in the health sciences, biomedical editors, reviewers, and indeed anyone wishing to improve his or her writing skills in English.

Covers all areas of scientific communication a scientist needs to master to be successful in research and career. Begins with a discussion of the basics of scientific writing style and composition. Applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumés as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters. Includes multi-disciplinary examples taken from real research papers and grant proposals to illustrate clear technical writing as well as common mistakes to avoid. Examples are drawn from a broad range of scientific disciplines including medicine. , Extensive end-of-chapter exercises. Writing guidelines and revision checklists warn scientists against common pitfalls and equip them with successful techniques to revise a scientific paper, review article, or grant proposal.

Presents a practical and comprehensible set of guidelines on publishing and presenting in the medical sciences. This resource teaches readers the core skills and strategies needed to avoid the pitfalls of rejection and create polished, professional scientific communications. It is suitable for health professionals.

Provides immediate help for preparing a biomedical paper by giving specific advice on organizing the components of the paper, effective writing techniques, writing an effective results sections, documentation issues, sentence structure and more. The new edition includes new examples from the current literature and expanded exercises at the end of the book.