COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources: Health Care Professionals
Created by Health Science Librarians
COVID-19 help
Find out if you are currently eligible for a vaccine, sign up to get notified, or find a vaccine provider at
Get Your Shot (Orange County NC)
If you have specific questions or concerns related to coronavirus, call the North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services (NC DHHS) 24/7 phone number
1-866-462-3821
or visit the NC DHHS Coronarivus website for more information.
In the event of an emergency, please call 9-1-1.
You can also submit questions online by selecting Chat at www.ncpoisoncontrol.org.
______________________
Need someone to talk to?
You are not alone.
SAMHSA's National Helpline (24/7)
call 1-800-662-HELP (4357)
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (24/7)
call 800-273-TALK (8255) or chat with a person at the Lifeline here.
National Domestic Violence Helpline (24/7)
call 1-800-799-7233
text LOVEIS to 22522
log onto thehotline.org
Questions about this page?
Please note:
The Health Sciences Library cannot offer medical advice. Please use the resources above or contact a licensed medical professional for COVID-19 diagnosis or treatment.
UNC Health Care Employees
Must have access to UNC Health Intranet to read
Must have access to UNC Health Intranet to read
Must have access to UNC Health Intranet to read
COVID-19 information as it relates to UNC Health and affiliated hospitals, preparations, as well as tips for staying healthy
All topics are updated as new evidence becomes available and
the UptoDate peer review process is complete.
Vaccination Resources
Evidence-Based Practice and Clinical Guidance
- Coronavirus (COVID-19): infection control and prevention measures (Cochrane)In order to ensure immediate access to Cochrane Reviews of potential relevance, this Cochrane Library Special Collection assembles Cochrane Reviews identified as most directly relevant to the prevention of infection. It includes reviews that evaluate the effects of interventions referenced in the WHO interim guidance for the 2019 coronavirus outbreak (28 January 2020), as well as other potentially relevant reviews from three Cochrane Networks.
Please note that the reviews included in this Special Collection summarize evidence, and their inclusion does not mean that the interventions reviewed have been shown to be an effective prevention measure. - Coronavirus (COVID-19): evidence relevant to critical care (Cochrane)This Special Collection includes Cochrane Reviews on the following topics: fluid and vasopressor therapy; respiratory support and mechanical ventilation; weaning mechanical ventilation; managing hypoxaemia; pharmacological treatment; and nutrition in intensive care. Many reviews in the collection have associated Cochrane Clinical Answers, with links provided.
It is important to note that the reviews included in this Collection summarise evidence; their inclusion does not mean that they are an effective treatment. A number of reviews presented here highlight the paucity of high-quality evidence to inform medical decision-making in the context of the severe acute respiratory infection (SARI) crisis. - COVID-evidence DatabaseFind evidence on interventions for COVID-19. COVID-evidence is a continuously updated database of the worldwide available evidence on interventions for COVID-19.
Latest Research Articles
COVID-19 Feed (PubMed)
Run a Search
- Dimensions COVID-19 publications, data sets, clinical trials - updated daily (Dimensions)Digital Science is providing all relevant content on COVID-19 in Dimensions as a single export file, updated daily, to make sharing and distributing this research information easier.
Access the CSV file on Figshare - COVID-19 Data Resource Hub (Tableau)It includes a clean, ready-to-use data stream of case reports, compiled by Johns Hopkins University and including data from WHO and the CDC; a jumpstart workbook; and a curated gallery of the best visualizations created by Tableau users.
- Run a COVID-19 search in DisasterLitResources include guidelines, reports, proceedings, trainings, fact sheets, etc., for a professional audience.
Information Collections
- LitCovid (National Library of Medicine)LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 737 (and growing) peer-review articles. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
- Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19) (WHO)WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.
- COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 29,000 scholarly articles, including over 13,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community. This dataset is intended to mobilize researchers to apply recent advances in natural language processing to generate new insights in support of the fight against this infectious disease. The corpus will be updated weekly as new research is published in peer-reviewed publications and archival services like bioRxiv, medRxiv, and others.
@COVID_Evidence on Twitter
-
Live automated evidence via PubMed/Clinical Trials/F1000/BioMedCentral/bioRxiv/medRxiv
Research Funding Sources
- InfoEd Global SPIN PlusUnder Search Tab
o COVID-19/Coronavirus All Resources
o COVID-19/Coronavirus Funding Opportunities - COVID-19 Funding Opportunities relevant to SOM researchers- April 26th [PDF]Please check the Office of Research website for the most recent copy of this document.
UNC Research Updates
- Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research Responds to COVID-19Information for UNC-Chapel Hill researchers about the impact of COVID-19
