Skip to Main Content

A History of the Creation of the Department of (Allied) Health Sciences at UNC-Chapel Hill: Detailed Timelines

This guide details the winding history of the creation of the Department of Allied Health Sciences at UNC-Chapel Hill, as determined by archival research. It reveals the people and processes involved along the way.

Created by Health Science Librarians

Detailed Timelines

These documents present the history of the Department of Allied Health Sciences at UNC-Chapel Hill in a few different ways, each in more detail than what is presented in the "Timelines" tab of this guide. 

Relevant Administrators, 1966-1974

Over the course of the journey to improve the Allied Health programs at UNC, the occupants of major positions relevant to the important decision-making changed a few times. Listed below are the highest relevant positions with service time for each executive. The deans for each school reported to the Vice Chancellor for the Health Affairs Division, who in turn reported to the UNC Chancellor. Briefly, when Dr. Cecil George Sheps replaced Dr. C. Arden Miller in July 1970, the division was renamed the Health Sciences Division, but it returned to being called the Health Affairs Division in 1976.

UNC Chancellors

  • J. Carlyle Sitterson (1966 - January 1972)
  • N. Ferebee Taylor (January 1972 - 1980)

Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs

  • Dr. C. Arden Miller (July 1966 - June 1970)
  • Dr. Cecil George Sheps (July 1970 - December 1976) (as Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences)

Deans, School of Medicine 

  • Dr. Isaac M. Taylor (1964 - 1971)
  • Dr. Christopher C. Fordham III (1971 - 1979)

Deans, School of Public Health

  • Dr. Fred Mayes (1963 - 1972)
  • Dr. Bernard Greenberg (1972 - 1982)

Deans, School of Dentistry

  • Dr. James Wyatt Bawden (June 1966 - June 1974)