GLBL 221 The Migratory Experience Fall 2024: Home

This guide lists some sources that can be used to complete the Profile of an Immigrant Group assignment. If you are having trouble finding a particular data point, aspects of a group's migration history, or exemplars of media portrayal, please do not hesitate to reach out!

U.S. Census Bureau

• covers 2000-2021
• for data prior to 2000, see Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 2000
• can search by nationality (not ethnicity), then examine data from American Community Survey (Place of Birth by Nativity and Citizenship Status, Period of Entry by Nativity and Citizenship Status, etc.)

Department of Homeland Security Immigration Data and Statistics

• Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

  • covers 1996-2022

• Profiles of Naturalized Citizens

  • covers 2003-2022

• Profiles of Lawful Permanent Residents

  • covers 2003-2022

• Refugees and Asylees

  • covers 1997 and 2004-2022

• Unauthorized Immigrant Population Estimates

  • covers 1990-2000 and 2005-2019

Migration Policy Institute

• their data comes from U.S. Census and American Community Survey, but may be packaged in a more user-friendly way.

For data from a specific European country, you may need to look at that country's statistics agency. Note that, depending on country in question, the information may not be available in English. Some general resources on European statistics are:

• Eurostat Migration and Asylum

• European Parliament Think Tank

  • Data comes from Eurostat above, but may be packaged in a more user-friendly way.

• United Nations Population Division

• UNHCR Global Trends

WorldBank Data

• aggregates data from other sources

Finding English-language research articles on immigrant population and migration history is not very different from finding articles on any other topic in the humanities and social sciences. Start with your favorite aggregator:

• Articles Plus

• Dimensions

• Google Scholar

• OpenAlex

• Semantic Scholar

Depending on the particular demographic or socio-economic characteristics that you are investigating, you may also want to consult a discipline-specific database, e.g. in anthropology, education, public health, sociology etc.

• E-Research by Discipline

The Library provides access to a variety of current and historical national-level and local newspapers from the United States and other countries.

National U.S. newspapers:

• New York Times Academic Pass

• The Washington Post

Local U.S. newspapers:

• America's News

Historical U.S. newspapers:

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This is just scratching the surface, for more news sources see:

• E-Research by Discipline: News