IACUC Alternatives Research Source Selection Aid: IACUC Resources
UNC IACUC Animal Alternatives Search Database Selection Guide
Created by Health Science Librarians
IACUC Resources
IACUC Information & Support Resources
IACUC Reference E-Books
The Care and Feeding of an IACUC by
Maintaining its user-friendly approach, The Care and Feeding of an IACUC: The Organization and Management of an Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, Second Edition is a handy guide for members of the laboratory animal community looking for a concise, descriptive introduction to what an IACUC is all about and how it operates. The book covers
ISBN: 9781482201130Publication Date: 2015
The IACUC Handbook by
Ever since its establishment by USDA regulation in the mid-1980s, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) has evolved as the premier instrument of animal welfare oversight within research institutions in the United States. As biomedical research continuously grows, the role and impact of the IACUC has increased in scope and complexity. The IACUC Handbook has become "the Bible" for individuals when the time comes for them to serve on their institution's IACUC. It provides a foundation for understanding and implementing the many and varied responsibilities of this committee. This Third Edition comprehensively addresses the significant changes in the pertinent regulatory environment and interpretation of applicable federal laws, regulations, and policies. It provides multiple references and commentary on the new edition of the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the new AVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of Animals: 2013 Edition, and the Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare's Frequently Asked Questions. The Third Edition also features an updated survey of IACUC practices from institutions around the United States, offering wisdom gained from their experience. In addition, it includes a chapter that provides an international perspective on how animal welfare reviews can function in other countries.
ISBN: 9781466555648Publication Date: 2014
- Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, 8th EditionThe Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals provides a framework for the judgments required in the management of animal facilities. This updated and expanded resource of proven value will be important to scientists and researchers, veterinarians, animal care personnel, facilities managers, institutional administrators, policy makers involved in research issues, and animal welfare advocates.