IACUC Alternatives Research Source Selection Aid: Choose Your Alternatives Sources

The UNC IACUC will require you to search at least two databases. This guide can help you select the most useful for your specific protocol.

Click on the type of database at the left of this screen to find recommended choices.

• Most researchers choose to start with PubMed or another broadly inclusive biomedical research database.

• Your additional databases can be a second biomedical research database, or focus on:

  • a specific aspect of the protocol design, 

  • the animal model, 

  • the 3Rs (Reduction, Replacement, Refinement), 

  • other funded research.

• If there is a specific database relevant to the protocol topic or model, you should include it in your search. 

The following are RED FLAGS for IACUC reviewers. Be careful to avoid them in your searching.

• Animal Welfare Information Center (USDA AWIC) Red Flags
  • Only 1 database searched
  • Terms included only for painful aspects
  • The term “alternative” used alone
  • Keywords not relevant to the protocol
  • Keywords and concepts linked incorrectly
  • Inadequate time period searched (less than 5 years)

• Google Scholar IS NOT A RESEARCH DATABASE.
  • Use it to find useful news, contacts or articles, and to further search for similar funded research projects, but do not rely on it for any kind of thorough research
    • Its coverage is incomplete and includes many low-quality and predatory sources
    • It is not acceptable as a research or alternatives database for the IACUC

You are welcome to contact a science or health sciences librarian for assistance in selecting the most useful database for your protocol.

If your reviewers ask you to seek librarian assistance, please contact the Health Sciences Library.