Skip to Main Content

Finding News Stories: African American Newspapers in North Carolina

About This Guide

This guide lists African American newspapers published in North Carolina from the 19th-century through the present. This is an attempt to list every African American newspaper published in the state, but we recognize that there may be omissions, and we welcome suggestions.

How to use this guide
Many of these titles are held in the 
North Carolina Collection, a research collection in Wilson Library at UNC-Chapel Hill. If a publication listed below is available at the North Carolina Collection, click on the title to go to the UNC Library catalog record. The line “NCC has” refers to dates of coverage in the North Carolina Collection. “OCLC” refers to the unique identifier of the publication in WorldCat, where you can view other libraries that also have that publication in their collection. Browsing WorldCat may be useful if NCC coverage of the title is incomplete. 

Many of these titles are also available online, though some are only available with the use of a UNC login and password. Resources requiring a UNC login are indicated as such.

Papers

ASHEVILLE

Asheville Advocate

  • Dates published:1987 to 1996
  • NCC has 1987 to 1996
  • Call number: C071 A82a1 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Note: Published by C. and A. Enterprises.
  • OCLC: 43704866
  • Dates published: 1934 to 19??
  • Note: Published by Advocate Print Co.
  • OCLC: 11032909

Church Advocate

  • Dates published:1891-1943
  • NCC has 1943
  • Call number: C071 A82m1 title 7 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 63197578
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com. Some issues from 1891, 1943

The Southern News

  • Dates published:1936 to 1974?
  • NCC has 1938
  • Call number: C071 A82m1 title 15 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 63201017

The Southland Advocate

  • Dates published:1950
  • NCC has 1950
  • Call number: C071 A82m1 title 14 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 63201120
  • Online: UNC login -Newspapers.com: 1950

CHARLOTTE

Africo-American Presbyterian

  • Dates published:1879 to 1889; 1897-1938 
  • NCC has 1880 to 1938
  • Call number: C285 A25 reels 1-4 (microfilm) / FFC285 A25
  • Notes Also published in Wilmington. Edited by Reverend D. J. Sanders.
  • OCLC: 26231193 and 10354392
  • Online: UNC login - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
  • Dates published: weekly, 1882 to 1898
  • NCC has 1883
  • Call number: C071 C47m (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 36848169
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1 issue (06-30-1883).
  • Dates published:1890 to present
  • NCC has 1971 to 1987
  • Call number: C071 C47p (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes: Current information available online
  • OCLC: 21337679
  • Dates Published 1971-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214772
Queen City Gazette
  • Online Dates 196?-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214729
  • Dates published:1876 to present
  • NCC has 1884 to 1904, 1906 to 1970 (microfilm),1975-78, 1993 (incomplete), and 1995-to date (paper copies)
  • Call number: C287.8 S795a (microfilm) , FC287.8 S795a (paper copies)
  • Notes: Official Organ of the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church. Place of publication varies: Charlotte, N.C. Aug. 1895-; Petersburg, Virginia 1876 - present.
  • OCLC: 7782712 (microfilm) / 2268099 (paper copies)
  • Dates Published 1978-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214893

CONCORD-KANNAPOLIS

Cotton Ball
  • Dates Published 1897-1898
  • NCC has no issues available 
  • Dates Published 1972-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214687

DURHAM

The Carolina Times

  • Dates published 1919 to present
  • NCC has 1937-1943; 1949-1950; 1952-present
  • Call number C071 C29t1 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 36829930
  • Online: DigitalNC: 1937-1982.
  • Dates published 1998 to present
  • NCC has 1998 to present
  • Call number C071 T82t (NCC)
  • OCLC: 40565647
  • Dates published 1924 to 1998
  • NCC has 1933; 1948 to 1998
  • Call number C368.3 N87m (NCC)
  • Notes Published by the North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company.
  • OCLC: 32479394

FAYETTEVILLE

The Challenger

  • Dates published 198?-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214520
  • Dates Published 198?-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 41407984
  • Dates Published 19??-current
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 38214563

GOLDSBORO

Carolina Enterprise

  • Dates published:1880 to 1883
  • NCC has no issues available
  • The North Carolina State Archives holds the issue from March 31, 1883.
  • OCLC: 39369829
  • Dates published:1881 to 1882
  • NCC has 1881 to 1882
  • Call number: C071 G62g1 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 39351801
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1881-1882

Progress

  • Dates Published 1890-unknown
  • NCC has no issues available

GREENSBORO

African World

  • Dates Published 1971-1975
  • NCC has no issues available
  • Available Through the Duke University Libraries, 1970-1975.
  • OCLC: 5151054
  • Dates published:1967 to present
  • NCC has 1967 to present
  • Call number: C071 C29p (NCC Microfilm). C071 C29p (NCC).
  • Notes Published by Carolina Newspapers, Inc.
  • OCLC: 37853038
  • Dates published:1941 to 1972
  • NCC has 1941 to 1972
  • Call number: C071 G81f (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC: 41242963
  • Online: DigitalNC

GREENVILLE

The 'M' voice

  • Dates published: 1987 to present
  • NCC has 1987 to present
  • Call number: C071 M666g (NCC) / C071 G79m (NCC Microfilm).
  • OCLC: 34374790 and 52079431

HARRIS/FOREST CITY

Carolina News

  • Dates published:1952-19??
  • NCC has 1952
  • Call number: C071 M67n4 title 5
  • OCLC: 38214323
  • Online: DigitalNC
  • Dates published:1946-1952
  • NCC has 1946:July, Sept.-Oct.; 1947:Feb.
  • Call number: C071 M67n4 title 6
  • OCLC: 38214369
  • Online: DigitalNC

HIGH POINT

The Tribunal Aid

  • Dates published: 1973 to 1976
  • NCC has 1973 to 1976
  • Call number: C071 H63t (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Tri-Ad Pub. Inc.
  • OCLC: 41174174
  • Online: DigitalNC: 1973-1976.

LAURINBURG

Laurinburg Post

  • Dates published:1895
  • NCC has 1895
  • Call number: C071 M67n reel 5 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by N. F. McEachin.
  • OCLC 36995633
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: some issues 1895.

LINCOLNTON

Colored Industrial

  • Dates published:1890s to 1900s
  • NCC has no issues available
  • The North Carolina State Archives holds issues from 1901 and 1903.
  • Notes: Published by Colored Industrial Publishing Company.
  • OCLC: 40413138

LITTLETON

The True Reformer

  • Dates published: weekly, 1888 to 1909
  • NCC has 1900: July 25
  • Call number: C071 M67n reel 5 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by the Afro Union Club.
  • OCLC: 36995799
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1 issue (07-25-1900).

MAXTON

Maxton Blade

  • Dates Published:189?-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 26832908

MONROE

The Crusader Newsletter

  • Dates published: 1959 to 1969
  • NCC has 1959 to 1969
  • Call number: VC326 C95 1959-1969 and VC326 C95 1961-1962 (NCC Vault).
  • OCLC: 4565993 and 50602597

NEW BERN

Afro-American Vindicator 

  • Dates published: 1888-1890
  • NCC has no issues available

National Savings Bank

  • Dates published:1868 to unknown
  • NCC has 1868
  • Call number: C071 N53 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Freedman's Savings and Trust Company in New Bern, North Carolina and Washington, D.C.
  • OCLC: 36765390
  • Online: DigitalNC
  • Dates published:1886 to unknown
  • NCC has 1886
  • Call number: C071 N53 (NCC Microfilm)
  • OCLC:14512227 and 10587961
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1886.

PEE DEE

Herald

  • Dates published: 1897-1898
  • NCC has 1870-1880
  • OCLC: 12734508
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com

Papers

RALEIGH

African Expositor

  • Dates published 1886
  • NCC has 1886
  • Call number C071 R16 reel 5 (NCC Microfilm). Cb378 S53J (NCC).
  • Notes: Published by Reverend H. M. Tupper and the Alumni of Shaw University.
  • OCLC 56090406 and 38892755
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1886.
  • Dates published 1881 to unknown
  • NCC has 1883 to 1884
  • Call number C071 R16b (NCC Microfilm). C071 R16 reel 3 (NCC Microfilm).
  • Notes Published by Smith, Mebane and Williamson.
  • OCLC: 16502293 and 16117652
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1883-1884.
  • Date Published 19??-1940
  • NCC has no issues available
  • State Library of NC has March 2, 1935, June 22, 1935, and June 3, 1939 available through microfilm
  • OCLC: 25587012
  • Dates published 1940 to present
  • NCC has 1945 to present
  • Call number C071 C292 (Sept. 1946 - Apr. 1966, Jan. 1988 - present, NCC Microfilm). C071 C292 (1945-1987, NCC Microfiche).
  • Notes Published by Carolinian Publishing Company.
  • OCLC: 34797838 and 14183143
  • Online: DigitalNC, 1945-1964
  • Dates Published 1870-1873
  • NCC has 1870-1873
  • Call number FFC287 R163 ; (Microfilm) C071 R16c 1870-1873
  • OCLC: 12773230
  • Dates Published 1867-1868
  • NCC has Feb. 27, 1867, July 17, 1867, Feb. 5, 1868.
  • Call number C071 E63 1867-1868; (Microfilm) C071 R16c 1867-1868
  • OCLC: 12772925
  • Dates published Bi-weekly, 1890 to 1898
  • NCC has 1891 to 1898
  • Call number C071 G28r (NCC Microfilm). C071 R16 reel 3 (NCC Microfilm).
  • Notes Published by John H Williamson. Alternate titles: Weekly Gazette and North Carolina Gazette.
  • OCLC: 10033391 and 36491087
  • Online: UNC login - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998: some issues 1893-1898. Newspapers.com: some issues 1891, 1893-94, 1896-98.
  • Dates published Weekly, 1879 to 1881
  • NCC has 1879 to 1880
  • Call number C071 R16 reel 3 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by C. N. Hunter.
  • OCLC 16515294
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1879-1880.
  • Dates published 1885 to unknown
  • NCC has 1885
  • Call number C071 R16 reel 3 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by J. H. Williamson.
  • OCLC: 16502354
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1885.

Outlook

  • Dates published: 1887-1888
  • NCC has no issues available
  • Dates Published 1873-1894, 1899-1919
  • NCC has 1873-1894
  • Call number FFC287 R163 1873-1894; (Microfilm) C071 R16c 1873-1894
  • OCLC: 12773696
  • Dates Published 1916-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • State Library of NC has Dec. 21, 1918 and Dec. 18, 1920 available on Microfilm
  • OCLC: 25587202
  • Dates published 1975 to present
  • NCC has 1975
  • Call number FCp071 R449 (NCC)
  • Notes: Supplement to African American newspapers in North Carolina including The Charlotte Post (Charlotte); The Carolina Times (Durham); Carolina Peacemaker (Greensboro); The Carolinian (Raleigh). Published by P.R. Jervay and Associates.
  • OCLC: 61442746
  • Dates published 1867 to 1870
  • NCC has 1867 and 1874
  • Call number C071 R16 reel 2 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Frank S Pearson, Jr.
  • OCLC: 16566959 and 12714100
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1867.

ROCKY MOUNT

  • Dates Published 1982-199?
  • NCC has incomplete holdings 1985-1996
  • Call number FC331.88 J91b
  • OCLC 21573844
  • Note: Published by the Black Workers for Justice

SALISBURY

Piedmont Sun

  • Dates published 1989 to 1997
  • NCC has 1992 to 1994
  • Call number C071 S81i2 1992- (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Mason McCullough. Alternate titles: Iredell County News and Piedmont News.
  • OCLC: 55658332

Star of Zion

  • Dates published: 1882-unknown
  • NCC has 1884-1904, 1906-1970 on microfilm
  • OCLC: 2268099

SHELBY

New Era Christian Evangelist 

  • Dates published: 1897-unknown
  • NCC has no issues available

STATESVILLE

County News

  • Dates published 1997-current
  • NCC has 1953 on microfilm
  • Call number C071 M67n4 title 25
  • Mitchell Community College has copies
  • OCLC: 38255440
  • Dates published 1980 to 1997
  • NCC has 1980 to 1997
  • State Library of NC has 1980 to 1996
  • Call number C071 S81i2 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Iredell Publishing Company. Alternate titles: Piedmont Sun and Piedmont News.
  • OCLC: 55657777
  • Dates published 1980
  • NCC has 1980
  • Call number C071 S81i2 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by Charlotte Post Publishing Company.
  • OCLC: 55658331

Piedmont Sun

  • Dates published: 1896-1898
  • NCC has 1989-1997
  • OCLC: 55658332

WELDON

North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate

  • Dates published 1884 to unknown
  • NCC has 1884
  • Call number CO71 M67n reel 12 (NCC Microfilm)
  • Notes Published by D. McD. Lindsey. Alternate titles: Republican; Civil Rights Advocate; N.C. Republican and Civil Rights Advocate.
  • OCLC 22156107
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com: 1884.

WHITEVILLE

Afro-Chronicle

  • Dates Published 1972-????
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 40157836

WILMINGTON

Africo-American Presbyterian

  • Dates published: <1880>-<1889>: Wilmington, N.C. : D.J. Sanders, [1879-1939]
  • NCC has 1880 to 1938
  • Call number: FFC285 A25
  • Notes Published at Charlotte, N.C., <Aug. 19, 1897>-Sept. 29, 1938.
  • OCLC: 26231193 and 10354392
  • Online: UNC login - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; and DigitalNC

Bulletin

  • Dates published: 1887-1888
  • NCC has no issues available
The Cape Fear Journal
  • Dates published 19??-19??
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 40227483
  • Dates published 1988 to 2003
  • NCC has 1996 to 2003
  • Call number C071 W74c (NCC)
  • Notes Published by Peter and Kathy Davis Grear. Continued by Greater Diversity News.
  • OCLC: 29302317
  • Dates published 1890 to 1900
  • NCC has 1897 to 1898
  • Call number VC071 W74r (NCC Vault)
  • Notes Published by Record Publishing Company.
  • OCLC: 25278042
  • Dates published 2003 to present
  • NCC has 2003 to present
  • Call number C071 W74c (NCC)
  • Notes Published by Peter and Kathy Davis Grear. Previously The Challenger.
  • OCLC: 53929100
  • Dates Published 1945-1994
  • NCC has 1844-1868
  • Call number (Microfilm) C071 W74j
  • OCLC: 3962050
  • Online: UNC login - Newspapers.com
  • Dates published 1890 to 1899
  • NCC has 1895
  • Call number VC071 W74r (NCC Vault)
  • Notes Published by Record Publishing Company.
  • OCLC: 25911393

WILSON

The Wilson Blade

  • Dates published: 1897-unknown
  • NCC has one online issue
  • OCLC: 892910976
  • Online: DigitalNC Issue 1897

WINDSOR 

Home Journal

  • Dates published: 1890-1892
  • NCC has no issues available

WINSTON-SALEM

People's Spokesman

  • Dates published 194?-????
  • NCC has no issues available
  • OCLC: 17635238
  • Dates published 1925 to 1929
  • NCC has no issues available
  • Wake Forest University has issues from volumes 2-3 (1926-27?).
  • Notes: Published by Sunday School and BYPU Conventions of the Pilot Mountain Baptist Association. Edited by Melville Lewis Jones.
  • OCLC: 5788033
  • Dates published 1974 to 1997
  • NCC has 1974 to 1997
  • Call number C071 W78c (NCC)
  • Notes: Published by Winston-Salem Chronicle Publishing Company. Succeeding title: Chronicle (1997 to present).
  • OCLC: 12156348
  • Online: DigitalNC

Student Newspapers

STUDENT NEWSPAPERS

The A&T Register

  • Dates published: 1968-present
  • Location: Greensboro, NC A&T
  • OCLC: 15029713 
  • Online: The A&T Register

Bennett College

  • Dates published: 1934-2009
  • Location: Greensboro
  • Online: DigitalNC

Black Ink

  • Dates published: 1969-present
  • North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) has: 1969-present, call number FC378 UQb1
  • OCLC: 28746095
  • Location: Chapel Hill, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Online: DigitalNC

Elizabeth State University

  • Dates published: 1927-2009
  • Location: Elizabeth City
  • Online: DigitalNC

Fayetteville State University

  • Dates published: 1946-present
  • Location: Fayetteville
  • Online: DigitalNC

Johnson C. Smith

  • Dates published: 1900-1980s
  • Location: Charlotte
  • Online: 1926-1930 via DigitalNC

The Living-Stone

  • Dates published: 1889-1893
  • North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) has: incomplete holdings, 1889-1890, call number VCp378 L78J
  • OCLC: 33205929
  • Location: Salisbury, Livingstone

North Carolina Central University

  • Dates published: 1927-1969
  • Location: Durham
  • Online: DigitalNC

The Nubian Message

  • Dates published: 1992-present
  • North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) has: incomplete holdings,1992-2002, call number C378 A27Q
  • Location: Raleigh, NC State
  • Online: The Nubian Message

Saint Augustine's University

  • Dates published: 1930-2000
  • Location: Raleigh
  • Online: DigitalNC

Winston-Salem State University

  • Dates published: 1962-2011
  • Location: Winston-Salem
  • Online: DigitalNC

Additional Resources & Bibliography

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

N.C. African American newspapers in Chronicling America

Accessible Archives (requires a UNC login)

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (requires a UNC login)

Newspapers.com - NC papers published before 1924, available at UNC (requires a UNC login)

North Carolina Newspapers title list, digitized by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Belfield, Sherri Denise. Contemporary Black Newspapers in North Carolina. Honors Essay, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1989.

Campbell, Georgetta Merritt. Extant Collections of Early Black Newspapers: A Research Guide to the Black Press, 1880-1915, With an Index to the Boston Guardian, 1902-1904. Troy, N.Y., Whitston Pub. Co., 1981.

Caster, Lillie Dailey. Newspapers and Periodicals By and About Black People: Southeastern Library Holdings. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1978.

de Felice, Kent. The Black Press Defined. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, Syracuse University, New York, 1969.

Holmes, Kim. Activities of the Black Press, 1827-1892. Ph.D. Dissertation, George Washington University, 1975.

Moses, Bernadine. A Historical and Analytical View of Black Newspapers in North Carolina. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1976.

Penn, Irving Garland. The Afro-American Press and Its Editors. Springfield, Willey and Company, 1891.

Payne, Gazelia. Black Newspapers in North Carolina: A Description. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1976.

Potter, Vilma Raskin. A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors 1827-1946. Ames, Iowa: Iowa State University Press, 1993.

Pride, Armistead Scott. Negro Newspapers on Microfilm: A Selected List. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1953.

Pride, Armistead Scott. A Register and History of Negro Newspapers in the United States, 1827-1950. Ph.D. Dissertation, Northwestern University, 1951.  

 

This guide was originally prepared by Russell Michalak, August 2005; updated by Sarah Everhart, May 2009; and updated again by Alex Salinas, Shelby Merritt, Emma Boettcher, and Brooke Guthrie, Spring 2015. Sarah Carrier, 2017.

  • Last Updated: Sep 20, 2021 11:28 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/news-Stories