American Food Studies: Economics
Books of Interest
Food and the Self by Call Number: Davis Library (4th floor) GT2850 .D48 2013ISBN: 0857854224Publication Date: 2013-12-05This important book reveals the cultural shift to be more complex, demonstrating how people in postindustrial societies strive to form meaningful and moral selves through both the consumption and production of material culture in leisure. Focusing on the material culture of food, the book explores these theoretical questions through an ethnography of those individuals for whom food is central to their self: 'foodies'.
Food Supply Chain Management and Logistics by Call Number: Davis Library (5th floor) HD9000.5 .D155 2015ISBN: 0749473649Publication Date: 2015-06-28Food Supply Chain Management and Logistics is an exciting new text that provides an accessible and essential guide to food supply chain management, considering the food supply chain from 'farm' to 'fork'. Samir Dani shows the reader how to stay ahead of the game by keeping abreast of global best practice, harnessing the very latest technology and squeezing efficiency and profit from increasingly complex supply chains.
The Reproach of Hunger by Call Number: Davis Library (5th floor) HD9000.5 .R53 2015ISBN: 143912387XPublication Date: 2015-10-06In a groundbreaking book, based on six years of on the ground reporting, expert David Rieff offers a masterly review about whether ending extreme poverty and widespread hunger is within our reach as increasingly promised.
Feeding Frenzy by Call Number: Davis Library (5th floor) HD9000.5 .M36 2014ISBN: 1771640138Publication Date: 2014-05-13Feeding Frenzy traces the history of the global food system and reveals the underlying causes of recent turmoil in food markets. This book reveals trends that could lead to more hunger and conflict. But Paul McMahon also outlines actions that can be taken to shape a sustainable and just food system.
Food, Economics, and Health by Call Number: Ebook AvailableISBN: 9780199269143Publication Date: 2008-10-15Drawing on the author's extensive and varied research, this book provides readers with a firm grounding in the concepts and issues across several disciplines including economics, nutrition, psychology and public health in the hope of improving the design of food policies in the developed and developing world.
Suggested Subject Headings
Relevant Databases
- EconLitAccess research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.
- Business Source PremierCovers scholarly articles for all business subjects: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes financial data, MarketLine company profiles, Harvard Business Review articles, SWOT analyses, and more.
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated. - AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsCovers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Related Websites
US Department of Agriculture - federal department responsible for developing and executing federal government policy on farming, agriculture, forestry, and food.
National Agriculture Library - The United States National Agricultural Library is one of the world's largest agricultural research libraries, and serves as a national library of the United States and as the library of the United States Department of Agriculture.
The Economist - offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
Market Updates
Connect with us
