Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ARTH 284: Modernism 2 (Spring 2024): Images
UNC Databases
- ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
UNC Collections
- Ackland Museum CollectionsSearch the database for objects in the permanent collection, including those on long-term loan to the Museum.
►See our Guide to Researching Collections in the Ackland Art Museum for additional information on working with the museum's collections.
Digitized collections at museums and cultural institutions
- The Art Institute of ChicagoDigitized collections of the AIC.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaA variety of digitized materials from cultural institutions across the U.S.
- EuropeanaDigitized materials from European archives, libraries, and museums.
- GallicaThe French aggregator for the European Digital Library, Europeana. Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
- JocondeA portal to digitized images and data from French museum collections.
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtSearch the collection of the MET.
- Moteur-CollectionsMeta-catalogue for searching collections of French cultural institutions.
- Museum of Modern ArtDigital image collection of the MoMA.
- National Gallery of ArtDigital image collection of NGA.
- The Phillips CollectionSearch digitized images from the Phillips collection.
- Staatliche Museen zu BerlinOnline collections of the SMB.
- The Tate CollectionSearch digitized images from the Tate collection.
Natalia Goncharova
Natalia Goncharova. "Angels and Aeroplanes" from Mystical Images of War, 1914. Wikimedia Commons.
