CLAR/ARTH 465-001: Architecture of Etruria & Rome, Spring 2023 (Prof. Hérica Valladares): Finding Books

On Reserve at Davis.
This text consists of an illustrated guide to all the major sites in twelve main areas in central Rome, and four in Greater Rome, including the Capitoline Hill, Roman Forum, Colosseum, Mausoleums of Augustus and Hadrian, the Circus Maximus, Catacombs, Ostia, and Tivoli.

This superb guide brings the work of Filippo Coarelli, one of the most widely published and well-known scholars of Roman topography, archeology and art, to a broad English-language audience. Conveniently organized by walking tours and illustrated throughout with clear maps, drawings, and plans, Rome and Environs: An Archaeological Guide covers all of the major, and an unparalleled number of minor, ancient sites in the city, and, unlike most other guides of Rome, includes major and many minor sites within easy reach of the city, such as Ostia Antica, Palestrina, Tivoli, and the many areas of interest along the ancient Roman roads. An essential resource for tourists interested in a deeper understanding of Rome's classical remains, it is also the ideal book for students and scholars approaching the ancient history of one of the world's most fascinating cities. * Covers all the major sites including the Capitoline, the Roman Forum, the Imperial Fora, the Palatine Hill, the Valley of the Colosseum, the Esquiline, the Caelian, the Quirinal, and the Campus Martius. * Discusses important clusters of sites-one on the area surrounding Circus Maximus and the other in the vicinity of the Trastevere, including the Aventine and the Vatican. * Covers the history and development of the city walls and aqueducts. * Follows major highways leading outside of the city to important and fascinating sites in the periphery of Rome. * Features 189 maps, drawings, and diagrams, and an appendix on building materials and techniques. * Includes an updated and expanded bibliography for students and scholars of Ancient Rome.

Lib-Use Only at Sloane and Davis.
A Choice magazine Outstanding Academic Title The first such dictionary since that of Platner and Ashby in 1929, A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome defines and describes the known buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome. It provides a concise history of each, with measurements, dates, and citations of significant ancient and modern sources.

Lib-Use Only at Sloane available at Davis to checkout.
This is the first of a five-volume set that will contain 2,300 entries on the topography of ancient Rome. The lexicon will provide an up-to-date account of current research on public and private buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D. Both classical and Christian structures are discussed in alphabetical entries by an international group of historians, topographers, archaeologists, philologists, numismatists, and art historians. Each volume will be heavily illustrated with drawings, photographs, floor plans, and maps.