Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
BUSI401 - Management and Corporate Communications : Business Data & Statistics
Additional Social Science Data
- Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- ICPSRData files and documentation for use with software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. Contains over 500,000 files covering population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. From the The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required. Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.
General Sources for Data (Start Here)
- StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - SimplyAnalyticsData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Data available at country, state, county, and neighborhood level.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users. - data.census.govData from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Their Census Academy offers great tips on using this tool.
- Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
State & Local Data
- LINC (Log Into North Carolina)
NC data in: Population, Housing, Health, Legal & Courts, Environment, Energy, Employment & Income, Business & Industry, Agriculture & Transportation. From N.C. government. 1990-current plus projections to 2030.
- NC LEAD (Labor Economic Analysis Division)Demographic profiles of North Carolina counties.
Reports on the state of various industries in the state; comparison of N.C. to other U.S. states on basic demographic, infrastructure and business climate measures. - Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina (EDPNC)EDPNC's focus is on recruiting new businesses to the state, supporting the needs of existing businesses, connecting exporters to global customers, helping small business owners get their start, and attracting tourists and visitors from all over the world.
- County Business Patterns (U.S. Census)Subnational economic data by industry, updated annually. Useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Analyze market potential, measure the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, set sales quotas, and develop budgets, according to the Census website. - Business Formation Statistics (U.S. Census)Covers Employer Identification Number (EIN) applications made in the U.S., including those associated with starting a new employer business. EINs are IDs used by business entities for tax purposes.
BFS offers information on actual and projected employer business formations originating from the EIN applications. Data available at the national, regional, state, and county level. - North Carolina's Official Labor Market Data SourceProvides county demographics, county labor and occupations data (including average wages), costs for buildings and sites, and more. From the NC Dept. of Commerce.
Book of the States (1982-2022)
State Management, Administration, and Demographics reports include
- Table 8.3: State and Local Government Employment.
- Table 8.5: State Government Employment (Full-Time Equivalent) for Selected Functions.
- Table 8.6: State Government Payrolls for Selected Functions.
State Pages include
- Table 10.3: State Statistics.
- Table 10.4: Personal Income, Population, and Per Capita Personal Income.
Market Data & Mapping (demographics, spending, and/or psychographics)
- SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
- StatistaProvides statistics and survey results targeting business customers, faculty, and researchers. Includes statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Contains over one million statistics on more than 80,000 topics, covering 170 industries.
- Census Narrative Profiles (current demographics)Covers social, economic, housing and demographic data. Use "Place" for cities. From the American Community Survey.
- Census: demographic subject linksProvides subject links to demographic tables from the American Community Survey. Use "Customize Table" to specify your geographies.
- NC Dept of Commerce: area profiles and mapping (tapestries)Provides demographic and market profiles of locations with North Carolina.
- Esri Business Analyst OnlineAccess demographic, business, and consumer data for market analysis, including consumer lifestyle and buying behavior.
Note: To use Business Analyst Online, you will need to create an Organizational ArcGIS Online Account. To create an account:
1. "Sign in"
2. "Your ArcGIS organization's URL" (under ArcGIS login): unc.maps.arcgis.com
3. Click "Continue" then "UNC Chapel Hill SSO"
4. Sign in with your Onyen
For help creating an account or accessing Business Analyst, please contact one of our librarians. - PolicyMapCreate maps and tables from U.S. demographic and economic data. Does not include psychographics.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides reports and marketing data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities from over 200 countries. Offers a single gateway to business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. Focuses on consumer-oriented industries.
- GlobalData IntelligenceReports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu. - Sage DataProvides statistics on international markets of all sorts. For help, see the user guide.
- Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Demographic and psychographic data.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsUse Consumers/Lifestyles data set for market research and customer discovery.
International Data (demographics and consumer spending)
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed.
Other International Data Sources
- World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
- UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionArticles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
- China Data OnlineEconomic and demographic statistics about contemporary China on a monthly and/or yearly basis. Geographies include national, provicinial, county, and city levels.
Note:UNC-Chapel Hill subscribes only to the China Statistics. China census data is not included in this subscription.
Data & Statistics (International)
- World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
- Penn World TablesPWT version 10.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 183 countries between 1950 and 2019.
- UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionIncludes spreadsheets from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data, which provides up to 370 variables for G20 countries, 1982-present, updated monthly. Use the Browse option to find these, and then change the sort to "Most recent".
Specialized Data Centers & Sites
- Odum InstituteResearch & data center providing support for social science research. Online help & consultations available for: proposals, Qualtrics, survey research, qualitative research, quantitative research, data management, and more.
Maintains UNC Dataverse repository. - Triangle Research Data CenterPart of the Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) program. Under this program, the Census Bureau and other agencies allows researchers with approved proposals to perform statistical analysis on non-public microdata from a variety of statistical agencies to address important research questions.
- Carolina Population CenterSix focus areas: Aging in Diverse Contexts; Inequality, Mobility, and Well-being; Links Between Health and Social and Economic Productivity; Measurement and Methods; Population, Health and Environment; and Sexuality, Reproduction, Fertility, and Families.
- Carolina Population Center Data PortalData collected by the Carolina Population Center and available to the research community.
Guides to Data & Statistics
- How to Cite DataCitations enable others to find the same sources you used. Data are like any other source and should be cited in your bibliography and your writing.
- Guide to ICPSRInformation about how to download political and social science data sets.
- Census Data ResourcesGuide to (mostly online) resources for manipulating and extracting Census data.
Guides for Health Data & Statistics
- Health Data & StatisticsFrequently used health data and statistics web sites for North Carolina, United States, and Global.
- Global Health DataFrom UNC's Health Sciences Library
Strategy for Finding Data & Statistics
- Strategy for Finding Statistics & Data (Accessible Version)Suggested strategies and questions to ask as you search for statistics and data for your projects.
