Research Methods for History: Getting Started with Library Research
Starting Your Search
Using some of the keywords you have come up with, try searching the library’s website for suitable resources.
You can search Articles + AND the library’s catalog through our website here: https://library.unc.edu/
You can find links to individual databases that may be helpful on the E-Research by Discipline page of our website
Questions to consider as you search:
- What material are you finding?
- Did you need to refine keywords?
- Did you adjust any facets/toggles to refine your search results?
- Can you click through and explore an item?
- Can you download the item or find a stable link to it?
- Can you search within the item?
- Does it lead to other items you may find useful?
If you find anything interesting or relevant,make a note and we will share with the group.
Questions to consider:
- What made this item worth paying attention to?
- How is it relevant to your research topic?
Searching Library Resources
Finding Background Information
At the beginning of the research process, you may need to find foundational readings to give an overview of your topic. Your readings from class will provide much of this foundational knowledge, but library resources can help supplement that.
These resources combine features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. You can use them to identify key readings on and theoretical approaches to a variety of topics. Searching the library's online catalog and browsing by subject can similarly give you an idea of what types of materials are out there. The aim here is not to read every item, but to browse and get a sense of the conversation surrounding your topic. If a particular document seems overwhelming, you can always use Ctrl+F (or Command+F on a Mac) to "Find" keywords on a page.
-
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
-
The CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. Entries provide a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
Your Research Style
There are a lot of resources listed here and even more within the library's webpages. Don't get overwhelmed! You do not need to search them all. The resources in this guide are here to help you find a starting place for a wide range of topics. They may or may not be a perfect fit for your unique research needs. Try searching in a few new spots for each research project you do, stretch out of your comfort zone a little at a time, and always ask for help from a librarian if you have questions.