Juul Labs Documents Collection for North Carolina: Example Searches

When selecting the NC vs. Juul Labs collection in the database to search within, it will add the beginning of the search strings - collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" - to your search string to make sure it is selecting documents in the North Carolina collection. 

Below is an example search string to look into documents related to Juul Labs mission and values.

To search for documents related to their mission and values, the terms AND "mission" OR "values" was added with the complete string as:

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND (mission OR values)

Using the OR in the search string includes documents with either mission or values. 

After entering the search string, this is what the database looked like in generating results. The search provided 350,182 results with various document types. 

To further narrow the search if you are interested in only presentations or slide decks on their mission or values, you can select to filter by document type on the lefthand side or add more to your search string. Adding presentation to the search string would look like: 

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND (mission OR values) type:"presentation"

Narrowing the search to presentations generated 20,875 results and the search results looked like the screenshot below:

Below are some example search strings. When selecting the NC vs. Juul Labs collection in the database, it will add the beginning of the search strings - collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" - to your search string to make sure it is selecting documents in the North Carolina collection. 

Select the search string hyperlink to show the search results in the database.

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND author:"Monsees"

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND (political giving OR political donation)

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND "youth prevention strategy" AND "flavors"

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND product design

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND (FDA OR federal drug administration)

collection:"JUUL labs Collection" AND case:"State of North Carolina" AND "strategy" author:Gould

When building search queries on the database, some key steps in building them are to:

• Identify your search interest
  • What are you searching for? A person or organization? Documents about marketing? 
• Use search terms that are most likely to match the words in the database
  • Think about terms that the industry would use or terms that align with the language that Juul Labs uses  (e..g, e-cigarette, vaping, pods)
• Use keywords from other sources such as industry websites, trade associations, publications, lobbying groups, marketing campaigns
  • Reviewing the lawsuit and terms used in the legal complaint can be a good point to start in finding internal and external language used to talk about the work of Juul Labs, how they refer to their products, and key names involved.
• "Snowball searching" 
  • Start with a basic search and then gather clues and terms from those search results to add more search terms or look into related documents to continue to narrow your search.