Juul Labs Documents Collection for North Carolina: Getting Started with the Database

When searching in the database, there is a blue "How do I search?" in the top right beneath the search bar. 

The information shows how to search and strategies with using Boolean Operators such as AND, OR, NOT, and other helpful ways to format your search in the database. 

In the document collection, there are various formats of information and document types from Juul Labs.

• Email
  • Emails show internal and external correspondence from individuals at Juul Labs. These formats are important in framing the context of Juul Lab's feelings and reactions towards news, collaboration with external organizations, and brand and marketing ideas. 
  • Email document example linked here. This email shows a consumer sending in a complaint about the pods leaking from her JUUL product and the response from Juul Lab's support team. 
• Document
  • Documents can include PDFs, Microsoft Word files, briefs, documents of internal emails and communications, and general information. The bulk of the information and files in the database are classified as "Document" for the type. 
  • An example of a file under "Document" for the type is linked here, showing internal research on two reporters to connect with the talk about Juul Labs products and work. 
• Html:
  • A HTML document is a text file that uses hypertext markup language (HTML) to structure and format content display for a web page. The HTML documents in the database are made up of customer service online chat information, downloaded PDFs on research, and call reports. 
  • An example of an HTML document is linked here, which shows a download of their custom service online chat logs. 
• Spreadsheet:
  • Spreadsheets in the database include information on data, call center logs, questions, and various internal information. Many of the spreadsheets in a zip file, which must be downloaded to view. 
  • An example of a spreadsheet document is linked here, showing an internal Excel sheet containing legal questions related to sales and marketing of their products in Spain. 
• Image:
  • Images included in the database are from customers sending in concerns about their products, pictures of consumers promoting or using JUUL, and marketing images. 
  • An example of an image is linked here, showing a screenshot of an instagram story by a business promoting purchasing JUUL products at their store. 
• Calendar:
  • This shows email calendar invites for internal and external meetings. The documents list the meeting attendees on the invite, and provides any text description written on the meeting invite. Many documents have goal of the meeting outlined in the calendar invite description. 
  • Calendar document example linked here, showing a scheduled interview for James Monsees with Uptown Almanac. 
• Presentation:
  • Presentations show slide decks presented internally and externally by Juul Labs, and presentations given to Juul Labs by companies, such as Japan Tobacco International (JTI). Presentations can help provide insight on the organizations priorities, their mission, large projects, and how they were presenting their work and operations to external stakeholders. 
  • An example of a presentation is linked here. This shows a presentation on an audit done by Scientific Affairs of Juul Labs and what they found. 
• Video:
  • Video files in the guide show commercials and testimony, product use and development videos, Congressional testimony clips, and other relevant videos on their products and work. An example of a video is linked here, showing a JUUL user give testimony about their experience switching from cigarettes to using JUUL for tobacco cessation for marketing purposes. 
• Audio: 
  • Audio files in the guide include meeting recordings, media interviews and consumer testimony. 

The option to filter by document type is located on the left-hand side of the database, outlined in red in the picture below. You can select the box of the type or types of documents you are interested in including in your search.