Juul Labs Documents Collection for North Carolina: Frequently Asked Questions and Database Contacts
Created by Health Science Librarians
FAQs and Key Links from the IDL Site
The links below provide resources to Frequently Asked Questions on the Industry Documents Library site to answer questions about the database collections, questions related to document privacy and information, and for resources to help answer questions.
-
IDL FAQsThis link provides answers to frequently asked questions about the Industry Documents Library Tobacco collections.
-
Copyright and Fair Use InformationWhile the Industry Documents Library is a public archive of documents and audiovisual materials, companies or individuals hold the rights to the information they created, meaning material cannot be “substantially” reproduced in books or other media without the copyright holder’s permission. This page details copyright and fair use information of the document collections accessible on through the IDL.
-
Redacted DocumentsThis explains why some documents might have redacted information or boxes covering certain aspects of text in documents in the database.
-
How to Cite IDL DocumentsThis page shows how to cite the industry documents by making sure the permanent URL is included, required citation formats, and citation managers that have a tobacco document format in their program.
-
Privileged Confidential DocumentsThis page explains what are privileged and confidential documents, how you can access them, and how to search these documents in the collections.
-
Redacted Documents in the DatabaseThis page explains why some of the documents in the collection contain redacted information, like personally identifiable information (PII) and what tobacco companies are able to redact from internal documents.
What is the Master Settlement Agreement?
The Master Settlement Agreement of 1998 was a multibillion-dollar settlement of dozens of lawsuits in a majority of the U.S. States against the tobacco industry. Among its many requirements, the settlement mandated that the tobacco companies release their internal company documents to the public by submitting them to a depository in Minnesota as well as creating and maintaining document websites. The Truth Tobacco Industry Documents archive preserves and maintains electronic versions of these released documents, making them widely available to researchers and the general public.
UCSF Industry Documents Library Contact Information
Rachel Taketa
Processing & Reference Archivist
(415) 514-1796
rachel.taketa@ucsf.edu
Kate Tasker
Managing Archivist
(415) 799-8847
kate.tasker@ucsf.edu
You can find their contact information, and an online question submission form here: https://www.industrydocuments.ucsf.edu/tobacco/help/ask-us/.