Finding Primary Source Materials: Digital Collections
Adam Matthew Products
Adam Matthew is an academic publisher of primary source material. The digital collections found here are presented in a similar fashion, allowing you to search for items based on keywords but also providing several options for browsing. Additionally, if you find a subset of the collection that has material relevant to your topic, you can restrict your search to a particular module, theme, or archival collection. Overall, this is a good option for gaining familiarity with digitized archival material.
-
You can cross-search all of their digital collections through AM Explorer
-
You can find a full list of all Adam Matthew Products to which we subscribe in the guide linked below
Gale Archives Unbound
Gale Archives Unbound offers an array of subject-specific resources primarily derived from microfilm, tailored to scholars conducting academic research. Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound program include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; and global affairs. In this guide, you'll find detailed lists of sub-collections belonging to various subject headings Gale has assigned to their databases. Each sub-collection listed includes a description of the contents and a link to directly access the sub-collection from on or off campus.
Selected General Sources - U. S. History
- AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American HistoryAn extensive list of links to important documents for the study of American history, from 800 c.e. to the present day. Arranged chronologically. From the University of Kansas.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsDigitized American historical materials, organized into thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
- Ancestry LibraryA major tool for genealogical and biographical research, particularly for the United States, providing access to vital records, census and voter lists, immigration records, military records, directories, tax, criminal, land, and will records, and more.
- Archive of AmericanaIncludes America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers 1872 - 1998, and Afro-American Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia 1538 -1922.
Off-campus access limited to UNC students, faculty, and staff. - Black Thought and CultureA collection of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures are included, with coverage from 1700 forward.
Off-campus access is limited to UNC students, faculty, and staff.
- Documenting the American South (DocSouth)DocSouth is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. From the University of North Carolina.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.
- Women Working, 1800-1930"Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression." Includes over 650,000 pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs. From Harvard University.
- UNC Digital CollectionsFeatures material drawn from UNC Libraries as well as collections that are the result of collaborations with UNC faculty members and partner libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions. The digital collections emphasize North Carolina and the American South. Topics include the experience of African Americans, the Civil War, the arts, economics, and politics.
Selected General Sources - Other
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Reproduces images of over 125,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England and her colonies in any language between 1475 and 1700, and in English worldwide for this period.
- Early European Books OnlineCovers the origins of Western culture beginning with the earliest print resources from continental Europe to 1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online"Provides remote access to 33 million full-text images and text-searchable pages of nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800."
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineA large, deep, and rich collection of primary sources documenting the 'long 19th Century.' Materials include books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more.
- Making of the Modern World (Parts I, II)More than 66,000 titles from the period 1450-1914. The most comprehensive collection in existence for the study of early economic, political, business and social history.
- Empire OnlineCovers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969"This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict."
- China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980Offers rich English-language sources relating to China and the West for the period of 1793-1980. Based on sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, the database includes disparate sources from visual images to papers of missionaries to records of diplomatic envoys that reflect Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western EuropeHuge collection of links to digitized Western European documents and images dating from prehistoric times to the present. Arranged by country and then chronologically.
- Europeana"Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections."
Readex Products
ProQuest History Vault
- ProQuest History VaultProvides access to historical documents of the history of the American South and African American History. This collection is organized into two main groups; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle AND Southern Life and Slavery.
About HistoryVault
- You can cross search the various modules through their Advanced Search
- You can read more detailed descriptions of the various modules here.
More Gale Products
You can browse all of the Gale products we subscribe to and find options for cross-searching through the Gale Product Menu.
Alexander Street
