Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

MEJO 652: Digital Media Economics & Behavior: Researching Nonprofits

Information for Nonprofits

Visit UNC Business Librarian Nancy Lovas' LibGuide on Nonprofits for help finding resources on nonprofit businesses.

Library of Congress: Doing Company Research: A Resource Guide for U.S. Companies

Library of Congress: The Nonprofit Sector in the United States: A Resource Guide

Library of Congress: Doing Company Research: A Resource Guide for Non-U.S. Companies

Identifying Nonprofits

N.C. Center for Nonprofit Organizations
Provides a directory of members
VolunteerMatch -- Triangle Area
Covers hundreds of area nonprofits
Candid/GuideStar search
Covers U.S. nonprofits

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Identifies nonprofits by type and location (as well as companies) using the U.S. Businesses module.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: Current information only

990 Form Information

What is a 990 form? Private and corporate-sponsored foundations in the U.S. submit a 990-PF to the IRS each year. This document provides fiscal data for the foundation, names of trustees and officers, application information, and a complete grants list.

990 Form Search
Search for 990 forms.
990 forms show non profit funding for each fiscal year.
more...less...
Basic information on grantmakers in the U.S. including private foundations, community foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate giving programs. Data includes assets and giving amounts. Includes financial data in the 990 form. From the Foundation Center.
Search Form 990 on AWS
Data set includes Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF which have been electronically filed with the IRS from 2011-Present.
How to Read the NEW IRS Form 990
Covers the version used starting 2008. From the Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York, Inc.
Tax Information for Private Foundations
Information from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) about what material private foundations need to provide the IRS. Lists requried filings by a private foundation; exemption requirements for 501(c)3 organizations; and more.
CitizenAudit
Search 15 years of Form 990s from every U.S. non-profit for any keyword.

Think Tanks

Google Think Tank Search Engine
Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Access: No restrictions.
NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
Index of over 500 worldwide public policy research institutes, better known as think tanks, searchable by English name and country.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1993 -

Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
Conducts research and analysis on the economic status of working America so that the needs of low- and middle-income workers are included in economic policy discussions. Nonprofit & nonpartisan.
National Bureau of Economic Research
Private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Conducts & disseminates unbiased economic research in a scientific manner without policy recommendations.

Need More?

Need more information? Head over to the Chapel Hill Public Library or the Durham County Main Library for these great resources:

Foundation Directory Online
The Foundation Center’s database can be searched by grant, company, grant makers, and 990s, or can simply be browsed. It is geared to grant seekers who are affiliated with non-profit entities, not individual grant seeking for personal projects. Available at the Durham County Main Library and the Chapel Hill Public Library.
Foundation Grants for Individuals Online
Resources for individual grant seekers for personal projects, available through the Durham County Main Library and Chapel Hill Public Library. Database contains foundations who fund individual projects.
Durham County Library: Non-profit Research
Online resources for researching non-profits and foundations. Some resources not available at UNC-Chapel Hill; all available at the Durham County Library Main Library.
Chapel Hill Public Library: Non-profit Research
Search the Foundation Directory Online at the Chapel Hill Public Library. In-library use only.

Researching Trends in Social Services and Nonprofit Management

Social Work Abstracts
The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1977-Present
Sociological Abstracts
Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1963-present
Business Source Premier
Covers nonprofit management
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Covers nonprofit management and other related topics
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Coverage varies. Some academic journals start in the 1800s, and some newspapers start in the early 1900s.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

North Carolina Businesses

Corporation Search, North Carolina Secretary of State
Find contact information as well as incorporation dates for local businesses. Annual reports filed with the state may be available.

Researching Nonprofits

Funding Information Network
Tools and resources from the U.S. Foundation Center, publications and training materials and services for grantseekers. Includes training videos, non-profit searches, and funding sources.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Covers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Search public charities, private foundations, and more.
Training Videos
Online videos in all areas of grant seeking for non-profits. Some are free; some require payment.