MEJO 652: Digital Media Economics & Behavior: Articles & Daily Readings
Newsletters You Should Read
Articles about Companies & Industries
- Business Source PremierIndustry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
- ProQuest Business Market Research CollectionContains company records and analysis of major global and regional economic and political developments.
- FactivaGlobal news and business information articles. Includes several international news transcripts.
Tech Note Go to Search / Search Builder to start searching. More help from: Factiva User Guide from ProQuest (pdf) - Nexis UniArticles from over 900 English language newspapers and law reviews. Formerly known as LexisNexis.
- Entrepreneurship Research and Policy NetworkOne of a number of specialized research networks within the Social Science Research Network (SSRN). It features abstracts and full-text published and working papers covering the intersection of entrepreneurship with other subject areas such as economics, finance, law and the social sciences. It also hosts job listings and calls for papers.
FAQ: Harvard Business Review & Harvard Business Cases
How can I access Harvard Business Review articles electronically through the library?
The database Business Source Premier is the only place you can get electronic access to HBR articles.
If you want to find specific articles online, use this search strategy in Business Source Premier:
- Open Business Source Premier (https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go.php?c=23609080)
- If you have the article title and author: e.g. “The Grass Isn’t Greener” by Evan Hirsh from 2013.
- Go to the “Advanced Search” page
- Type “grass isn’t greener” into the first search field box
- Change the “Select a Field” dropdown to “TI Title”
- Type "Hirsh" into the next search box
- Change the “Select a Field” dropdown to “AU Author”
This should display the article “The Grass Isn’t Greener” as HTML Full Text or as a PDF which you can either print or download to your computer.
If you wish to browse the Harvard Business Review month by month:
- Click on the “Publications” tab at the top of the page
- Enter “Harvard Business Review”
- Click on the title when it appears. You will then see a list of years from 1922 to present year. Choose the year, then the month, a list of articles organized by page number should appear.
Does UNC have access to Harvard Business Case Studies?
No. While HBR Cases are searchable in Business Source Premier from 1942 to present by company name and subject, there is no text from the case study. To search for cases related to a specific topic, simply enter “Harvard Business School Cases” into the search box and select “SO Publication Name” in the “Select a Field box” and then enter the topic or company you need a case study for. You will not get the full-text of the case study only date, author, company, and possibly a few subject terms. You can purchase Harvard Business Cases here: https://store.hbr.org/case-studies/.
Can UNC Interlibrary Loan (ILL) borrow the case study I need for my class?
No, again. Because HBR Cases are often purchased as course-specific materials, they are rarely available through Interlibrary Loan. UNC Libraries are not able to purchase case studies. You really must just buy the case study or talk with your professor for other options.
Free News for Students
- New York Times Academic Pass
Free access to the New York Times website for phones, tablets, and browsers.
Follow instructions at Create Account. You must use your @live.unc.edu email account. Allow up to a week for your registration to be processed.
Daily Readings
- Wall Street Journal (web; some free content)
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest; all content free for UNC)
- New York Times Business Section
- U.S. NewsstreamNational and international newspapers, wires and some TV / radio transcripts.
Includes: the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Guardian (U.K.).