Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

North Carolina Legal Practice Materials

In this guide you will find resources for North Carolina Practice Materials arranged according to fields of law.

Family Law/Domestic Relations

Kelso, Lloyd T., North Carolina Family Law Practice. St. Paul, Minn.: Thomson/West, 2008. [KFN7500 .K442 2008] [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains treatise-like analysis of issues in family law arranged by topic, with statutory and case law discussion included.

Note: The Law Library has the up to the 2019-2020 pocket version; the digital version available on WestlawEdge is updated to through December 2019. 

Marian F. Dobbs, Determining Child & Spousal Support. Eagan, Minn.: West, 2011-2019. [KF549 .B462] [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

Although this resource is not intended solely for North Carolina attorneys, many of the principles discussed in the analysis are applicable in many jurisdictions. It contains forms and worksheets along with completed examples and explanations intended to guide attorneys and consultants in support calculations

Note: The most recent edition of this resource (2019) is located on the 2nd floor of the law library.

Reynolds, Susan. Lee’s North Carolina Family Law, 5th ed. Charlottesville, Va: Michie Co., 1993-.   [KFN7494 .L43 1993] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via LexisAdvance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

In addition to providing an overview of the substantive family law in North Carolina, this resource  provides comprehensive coverage of North Carolina case and statutory law.  Another useful tool for practicing attorneys is the expert analysis of issues that look at the intersection of family law alongside other issues, such as contracts, torts, evidence, constitutional law, and property..

Note: The Law Library has collected the pocket supplements fro this text for 2004-2017. The most recent supplement (2017) is available with the copy of this text in the Reserve Room.

DePasquale, Sara. Fathers and Paternity: Applying the Law in North Carolina Child Welfare Cases. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC, School of Government, 2016. [KFN7504.6 .D47 2016]

This resource focuses on fathers in child welfare cases. It begins with how to identify the respondent father, then determining paternity, and finally what the father's role is in particular child welfare proceedings. This book includes: various appendices, such as checklists, the texts of selected North Carolina General Statutes, and a table in the back for cited statutes, regulations, and policy manuals.

DePasquale, Sara. Stages of Abuse, Neglect, and Dependency Cases in North Carolina: From Report to Final Disposition. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC, School of Government, 2017. [KFN7967.C5 D47 2017]

This compact pamphlet begins with a statutory definition section for some key concepts such as "juvenile" and "abuse." It then goes through the stages, color-coded, with a step-by-step breakdown of each. Notably, a two-page flow chart covering the processes from start to finish is also included.

North Carolina Family Law Case Book with Critical Cases, 2nd ed. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2015. [KFN7494.N678 2015]

This book provides a selection of family law cases and summaries in a Top Ten format with honorable mentions. The case lists are subdivided into five topic chapters: alimony, child custody, child support, equitable distribution, family law agreements. Each chapter also includes case summaries from 2000-2014 categorized by topic.

North Carolina Family and Related Laws Annotated. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis/Matthew Bender, 2018. [KFN 7494 .A29 N67 2018]

This resource conveniently locates statutes concerning family law  together from different domains such as civil procedure, the juvenile code, evidence code, and divorce and alimony. This book also includes Child Support Guidelines in the back.