Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

North Carolina Legal Practice Materials

In this guide you will find resources for North Carolina Practice Materials arranged according to fields of law.

Property

Webster, James A., Webster's Real Estate Law in North Carolina: Possessory Estates and Present Interests in Real Property. 6th ed. New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis, c. 2011-. [KFN7512 .W421 6th] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains an analytical overview of the Nature and Classification of Property, Estates and Interests in Real Property, Models of Acquisition and Transfer of Title or Interests in Real Property, Examinations of Titles to Real Property in North Carolina, and Uniform Acts and Related Legislation.

Note: The Law Library has the most recent supplements from 2013-2019, and the most recent supplement (2019) is available with the copy in the Reserve Room.

Badgett, Rebecca L. & McLaughlin, Christopher B., Regulation and Taxation of Short-Term Rentals. Chapel Hill, NC: U  NC School of Government, c.  2019. [KFN 7860 .B33 2019]

Although this resource is directed at counties and municipalities seeking to address the rise of short-term rentals, like Airbnb, it may be useful to those who want to understand the considerations involved. Specifically, this book analyzes governmental taxation and regulation of short-term rentals.

Houston, Norma R. A Legal Guide to Construction Contracting with North Carolina Local Governments. 5th ed. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c. 2015. [KFN 7555.8.B8 H68 2015]

This resource addresses the legal requirements for local government construction and professional design services contracting. Each chapter provides a summary of the legal requirements for various aspects of the construction contracting process, and every topic is accompanied by frequently asked questions and answers.

Szypszak, Charles. The Law of Municipal Streets and Utility Easements in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c. 2019. [KFN 7844 .S99 2019]

This book covers property interests in city streets with an expansion that covers the statutory and common law relevant to municipal streets and utility rights of way.

McLaughlin, Christopher B. In rem Foreclosure: Forms and Procedures. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c. 2016. [KFN 7879.8 .F58 M35 2016]

This new book on the in rem process offers insightful legal analysis, practical tips, and digital forms easily modified for the needs of local tax collectors. It updates and replaces the in rem portion of William A. Campbell's 2003 book, Property Tax Lien Foreclosure: Forms and Procedures.

Owens, David W. Introduction to Zoning and Development Regulation. 4th ed. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c. 2013. [KFN 7858 .O949 2013]

This resource, although older, provides a clear, understandable explanation of zoning law for citizen board members and the public. It provides a clear, understandable explanation of zoning law for citizen board members and the public.

Lovelady, Adam S. Land Subdivision Regulation in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c.2016. [KFN 7858 .L68 2016]

This book covers the law, policy, and practice of land subdivision regulation in North Carolina.Chapters cover a variety of topics such as: the authority for regulation; the procedures for review and approval of subdivision plats; subdivision design and standards for improvements; the dedication of land and improvements to the public, and subdivision ordinance enforcement.

Owens, David W. & Lovelady, Adam S. Quasi-Judicial handbook: A Guide for Boards Making Development Regulation Decisions. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, c. 2017. [KFN 7830 .O83 2017]

This handbook is designed as a guide for boards making development regulation decisions through the quasi-judicial process. The discussion covers the process prior to, during, and after the evidentiary hearing as well as the decision itself. Other topics include the board of adjustment, variances, special use permits, certificates of appropriateness, appeals of zoning determinations, and judicial review.