Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

North Carolina Legal Practice Materials

In this guide you will find resources for North Carolina Practice Materials arranged according to fields of law.

Automobiles

North Carolina Conference of Superior Court Judges. Committee on Pattern Jury Instructions. North Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Motor Vehicle Negligence. Raleigh: The Conference, 1973-2017.   [KFN7942 .A65 N681] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via WestlawEdge for UNC Law Faculty and Students]

Pattern Jury instructions lay out the elements of crimes and burdens of proof in simple, straightforward model language, and can therefore be an invaluable resource for preparing complaints, defenses, and courtroom arguments.

Note: The Law Library has collected the annual supplements for this text since 2004, and the most recent supplement (2017) is included in the copy of this text available in the Reserve Room.

Snyder, James E. Jr., North Carolina Automobile Insurance Law, 3rd ed. Suwanee, GA: Harrison Co., 1999-2017. [KFN7591 .A4 S69 1999] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via WestlawEdge for UNC Law Faculty and Students]

This annually updated text lays out the NC statutory provisions and relevant case law governing automobile insurance, and covers the insurance contract, liability coverage, coverage for covered vehicles, medical payments, assigned risk, underinsured and uninsured motorists, sanctions, and premiums.

Note: The Law Library has collected the annual supplements for this text since 2005, and the most recent supplement (2017) is included in the copy of this text available in the Reserve Room.

Garrett, Chad D.  The ABCs of Traffic Law: Do's and Don'ts of Traffic Court, 2nd ed.  Cary, N.C.: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2015. [KFN7697 .G37 2015] [Available electronically via LexisAdvance for UNC Law Faculty and Students]

This reference guide goes beyond the NC statutes to provide an overview of some of the biggest topics in traffic law that every lawyer should know.  Topics include speeding, driving while license revoked, hit and runs, and seat belt violations, just to name a few.

Note: The print copy is current through 2015 while the one located on LexisAdvance is current through 2016.

Banzhoff, Andrew; Williams, N. Cole. Teddy's North Carolina DWI Trial Notebook. North Carolina Advocates for Justice. [Available electronically via LexisAdvance for UNC Law Faculty and Students]

This resource provides an overall analytic framework for a DWI trial. It is primarily organized by the phases of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's detection process. Each phase contains an appendix of different material such as: a sentencing chart, statutes/administrative codes, a sample motion, and other kinds. 

A 2007 edition of this trial notebook's predecessor is located on the 4th floor of the Law Library.

Garrett, Chad D.; Oakley, Joel N. The ABCs of DWI. Cary, N.C.: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2013. [KFN 7697.8 .G37 2013]

This reference guide begins with the NC statutes that comprise impaired driving offenses and expands to touch upon all components of a DWI, including a chapter on triable issues and a consultation outline/checklist.

Simpson, George L. North Carolina Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance: A Handbook. Rochester, N.Y.: Lawyer's Cooperative Publishing, 2018. [KFN7591 .A43 N67 2018/19] [Available electronically via WestlawEdge for UNC Law Faculty and Students]

This reference resource delves into both substantive and procedural rules for an individual who may be entitled to either uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. It is divided into separate parts for each kind of coverage with numerous appendices that include forms and statutory amendments.

Denning, Shea Riggsbee; Tyner, Christopher; Welty, Jeffrey B. Pulled Over: The Law of Traffic Stops and Offenses in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, NC : UNC School of Government, 2017. [KFN 7697 .D46 2017]

This resource, in accessible language, uses the traffic stop as a center to cover the law of making traffic stops, their scope and duration, vehicle checkpoints, and driver's license and vehicle registration. It includes citations to the relevant cases and NC General Statutes.