Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

North Carolina Legal Practice Materials

In this guide you will find resources for North Carolina Practice Materials arranged according to fields of law.

Wills, Trusts, and Estates

Atwell, J. Stanley. Will Drafting and Probate Practice, 2006. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest CLE, c2006. [KFN7544 .N67 2006] CLE

These CLE materials cover topics such as professional responsibility, special trusts, joint ownership, drafting, planning considerations, and administration in will drafting and probate practice.

Basics of Will and Revocable Trust Drafting. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2010. [KFN7544 .B372 2010] CLE

This packet of CLE materials is an introduction to issues in will and trust drafting as well as simple estate planning in North Carolina. Entries are organized like commercial law outlines with forms.

Holding, Graham D. and Reid, Christy Eve. BB&T Estate Planning Forms Manual, 2011 rev. Branch Banking and Trust Corp., c2011. [KFN7540 .H64 2011]

This manual contains primarily forms with sample language and brief introductions for context. There are multiple versions for many of the types of will forms included. Types of forms include those for simple wills, for pour-over wills, and for various trusts among others.

Huggard, John Parker. North Carolina Estate Settlement Practice Guide. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2013. [KFN7547 .H84 2013] [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This guide is similar to a deskbook in that it offers fairly comprehensive coverage of the subject matter. The resource also contains forms, checklist, and practical advice on applying the law and avoiding malpractice.

The Law Library holds the most recent (2018) supplement for this text.

McLamb, Janet H. Edwards' North Carolina Probate Handbook: with Forms. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, 2003-. [KFN7544 . E38] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This handbook discusses procedural steps in administration of probate estates in North Carolina. Designed as a practical guide, the source contains Administrative Office of the Courts forms and is focused on the practical steps to be taken when administering estates.

The Law Library has copies of this text from 2003-2018.  The most recent copies of this text (2018) are available in the Reserve Room.

McLaughlin, James B. Wiggins Wills and Administration of Estates in North Carolina.  Eagan, MN: Thomson West, 2005. [KFN7544 .W54 2005]. (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

McLaughlin, James B. Wiggins Wills and Administration of Estates in North Carolina.  Eagan, MN: Thomson West, 2005. [KFN7544 .W54 2005]. (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via WestlawNext to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise provides an overview for practicing attorneys regarding wills.  Topics of interest include holographic wills, nuncupative wills, testamentary capacity, undue influence, fraud and mistake, execution of wills, attestation of wills, revocation of wills, probate, and devises.  In addition, this resource also provides statutory and case law on wills and estates, alongside an analysis of the legislative changes.

The Law Library has the most recent (2017) supplement for this text with the copy available in the Reserve Room.