Skip to main content

Chem 241H Honors Modern Analytical Methods

UNC Catalog Search

Using Find @ UNC

If an article search indicates we don't have an item:

1) Click the button.

2) If available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link.

3) Can't find it? Request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Carolina BLU logo and link

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Reading Ejournals

If you already know the title of the journal, you can search for it by name in the library catalog

Here are some of the most relevant journals:

  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry
  • Journal of Chemical Education

Finding Articles

News & Biographical Information Sources

Zotero Reference Manager

Zotero is a free reference management system where you can collect, manage, cite, and share research. You can use it to store references, highlight and annotate webpages, and collaborate by using groups through Zotero's website. All your references will be saved to the Zotero server. Zotero works with word processors so you can insert citations into research papers and create bibliographies from your saved citations.

Add Sources Automatically:

As you browse the web, look for icons in your address bar. In this example, a book appears while looking at an item in the library catalog:

location of book icon in Firefox address bar

Click on the book icon to save that book to your Zotero library.

Similar icons appear on different websites like New York Times articles, library resources, or even Youtube videos. Here's some examples:

Add Sources Manually:

If you want to save something that doesn't have an icon in the address bar, you can also add an item to your library manually. Open Zotero and use one of these buttons to create a blank item: 

You can fill the item in with information like the Author and Title.

Manage Your Articles

You can organize your sources into collections within Zotero.Think of a collection like a folder.  

  1. Open Zotero, and create a collection on the left side of the screen with the New Collection button ().
  2. Drag and drop items from the middle pane into a collection on the left.
  3. Collections can also be shared with a group to add and edit sources together. Create a group with the New Group button in the upper left corner ().

Get your articles formatted in MLA, APA, or almost any other citation style

It's simple! Right click on any item in your Zotero library and pick 'Create Bibliography from Selected Item.' Zotero will ask you which citation format to use, and how you'd like the results saved. Zotero will produce citations in RTF (Word) or HTML formats. It can also print out citations or copy them to your clipboard.

For more help visit the Zotero Library Guide

Poll Everywhere

Register for a Poll Everywhere account (free):
• If you have not already registered for Poll Everywhere for another course, you will need to register to enable your poll answers to be associated to you.  You must use your UNC email address when registering.
 • Registration instructions are available at:  http://help.unc.edu/help/poll-everywherefaq/
 

Science Librarian

Therese Triumph's picture
Therese Triumph
My pronouns are: she/her/hers
ORCID iD iconorcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574
Contact:
G301E Venable Hall
Kenan Science Library
919-962-3625

Background Information

Writing Resources

UNC Writing Center

UNC Writing Center - Abstracts
Excellent guide to composing abstratcts. Also available as a PDF

ACS Style Guide 

Author's Guide for submitting an article to the ACS journal Analytical Chemistry

Write Like a Chemist (book)

ACS ChemWorx
A free web-based citation management application.
 

  • Last Updated: Sep 10, 2020 1:48 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/chem241h