Clinical Reference: Clinical Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
- These resources are for UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; and UNC-Chapel Hill-affiliated AHEC users.
- Problems with your ADL account? Contact AHEC library staff.
Search to find articles, many with links to full-text.
Other Useful Resources
- Exam Prep ResourcesResources to study & practice for the USMLE, NAPLEX, NBDE, NCLEX, MCAT, PCAT & DAT.
- Lab Tests OnlineLab Tests Online has been designed to help patients or family caregivers better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. For medical professionals, this site can serve as a quick reference tool or as a resource for keeping up with advances in laboratory science.
- Medical Algorithms ProjectDeveloped by the Institute for Algorithmic Medicine, this site contains algorithms (including scales and surveys) taken from biomedical texts and journals. Topics are organized in 45 chapters. Contains brief descriptions and the ability to open algorithms in an Excel spreadsheet. Free registration.
- Mobile ResourcesLibrary downloads and online resources for your handheld device.
- Health Care Quality and Safety ResourcesArticles, guidelines, and other information to support patient safety and quality improvement.
- Guide to Writing and Using Case ReportsA special series of editorials, which comprise a guide to writing and using case reports, published in the Journal of Medical Case Reports.
- Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences (University of Toledo)This guide provides an extensive alphabetical list of journals in the health sciences, with links to their instructions for authors submitting articles.
Drug Information
- Micromedex (On Campus Only)
Also available through free apps. Ask us for more information.
Clinical Decision Support and Core Online Books
Patient/Consumer Health & Health Literacy
Evidence Based Practice
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- TRIP Database : the Search Engine for Evidence-Based MedicineOpen access clinical search engine. Create an account and list University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as your institution to get the Find@UNC button on listings.
- JAMAevidenceProvides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and better understand the principles of Evidence Based Practice/Medicine, including the books Users' Guides to Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination , etc.
Clinical Nursing Resources
- Lippincott Procedures for NursesAccess the latest evidence-based clinical information — right at the point of care. Must be affiliated with UNC Medical Center. Also available in PolicyStat.
- Davis's drug guide for nursesNursing implications, lab test considerations, dosage & routes, implementation, adverse reactions / side effects, interactions, patient & family teaching, and more
- Mosby's 2019 nursing drug referenceNursing considerations, dosage & routes, contraindications, side effects, interactions, and more.
See also the Clinical Nursing page on this guide.
CPT and ICD Codes
- OPTUM CPT Data Files via STAT!RefCPT codes, descriptions, and other CPT Information only. No fee schedules, basic units, relative values or related listings are included in CPT.
- CPT Code/Relative Value SearchAMA free search for CPT and RVU codes. Registration required. The free search is limited to twelve.
- ICD-10 OnlineThis online version of the ICD-10 offered through the World Health Organization allows for keyword searching.
See Medical Coding Guide for more details and other coding resources.