Finding Data Sets for the Health and Natural Sciences: Public Health

Provides access to CDC databases and other public health data collections, organized topically within the following categories: chronic conditions; communicable diseases; environmental health; health practice and prevention; injury prevention and occupational health.

Comprehensive list of links to local, state, national and international health statistics and data sets. Provided by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences librarians.

A link to the Health Statistics Guide created by librarians at UNC-CH Health Sciences Library. This guide provides links to additional local, national and global public health resources.

Maintained by the International Programs division of the U.S. Census bureau. Provides demographic, socioeconomic and HIV/AIDS statistics for over 200 countries.

Portal to public access and secure NCHS data sets, tools and a data linkage program. The NCHS collects data on characteristics that describe the health of a population, determinants of health and health care.

The toxicology information formerly aggregated in the TOXNET collection of databases managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), has been integrated into other NLM products and services. This site links to these distributed resources covering the following topic areas: comprehensive toxicology information, toxicology literature, breastfeeding & drugs, chemical information, developmental toxicology literature, chemical releases & mapping, comparative toxicogenomics, household product safety, occupational exposure to chemical, dietary supplement information, risk assessment, and animal testing alternatives. Links are also provided for archived data from Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), and GENE-TOX.

Statistical data on the situation of women and children throughout the world, gathered and analyzed through UNICEF's Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey (MICS) program.

Provides contact information for staff, and information about data tools available, from federal agencies in multiple domains, including: family and social environment, health care, physical environment and safety and health. Operated by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.

Provides a catalog of maternal and child health data sets and interactive tools. Operated by Harvard University School of Public Health through the Dataverse Network project.