Skip to Main Content

Evidence Based Physical Therapy: Databases for EBPT Searching

Created by Health Science Librarians

A Selection of Databases for EBPT Searching

PEDro

PEDro is the Physical therapy Evidence Database produced by the Center for Evidence- Based Physiotherapy (CEPB), based at the school of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney, Australia.   PEDro provides access to abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.   It is accessible free of charge via the Internet.   The controlled trials in PEDro are all rated with a methodological quality score, which is useful in terms of enabling users to quickly assess the validity of each trial.   

Coming Soon:  PEDro Partnership's DiTA (Diagnostic Test Accuracy) Database [Indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice. For each indexed study or review, DiTA provides citation details, abstracts and links to full-text.]

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

  • PubMed Clinical Queries (also under PubMed Tools): quickly find critically appraised content such as the Cochrane reviews, ACP Journal Club articles, etc. using PubMed.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text provides selected full text access to over 300 journals, out of more than 2,700 journals indexed. The CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) database covers the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains full text of legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. (Source: vendor website.)

Cochrane Library

This database includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of health care prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two sections: Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups (see Summary of CRG Output, under About the Cochrane Collaboration - Collaborative Review Groups for a listing of reviews and protocols organized by Collaborative Review Group) [and] Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

This resource supports nursing and allied health professional education and practice with full-text journals, dissertations, e-books, practice guidelines, study resources, and an assortment of videos from MedCom.

SCOPUS

A citation and abstracting database that provides comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library. It encompasses scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus covers both serial and monographic literature on sports, fitness, and related disciplines, and provides selected full text access to more than 400 full text titles, out of thousands of journals indexed. For a list of the full text titles included, connect to resource and then click on the "Full Text Publications" link.

TRIP Database : the Search Engine for Evidence-Based Medicine

Open access clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
 

PsycINFO

Containing literature dating from 1885-present, PsycINFO includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (like PT). It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

Embase

Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing thousands of international journals in a wide variety of fields from 1947 to the present. It includes in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science and clinical research, including literature in such fields as clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
 

See, also, Physical Therapy Resources Guide databases and the Evidence-based Practice Resources on the guide's Research/Practice tab

Learn More about Using Databases

Don't forget, Ask Us when you have difficulty finding what you're looking for in a database.

Don't forget, many databases have a link to help files as part of their search screens.

Full Text Articles via Find@UNC
Includes Find@UNC in PubMed and what to do when the article is not online via Find@UNC.

 

For help using the New PubMed platform (5/2020), see New PubMed Resource Box

PubMed resources below are being updated but still have useful information demonstrated using the original PubMed platform.