Global Health: Americas and the Caribbean

A good source for locating country-specific health and education resources.

The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System and as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.

Data summaries for the member nations of WHO that can be filtered by region or name of nation.

In their Reports on the Americas series, Wilson Center experts offer in-depth analyses of key issues for Latin America and the Caribbean.

From BIREME/PAHO/WHO - Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information.

HAPI Online contains worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. It covers materials published in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals.

PAHO’s Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) is an ongoing database which links historical and current scientific and technical literature produced by the PAHO. IRIS also includes the mandates (resolutions, working documents, information documents) of PAHO Governing Bodies and all the articles published by the Pan American Journal of Public Health.

LILACS is an important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The search interface is in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

The Virtual Campus for Public Health (VCPH) is the learning platform of the PAHO. The goal of the Virtual Campus is to contribute to the development of skills and competencies of health workers, while supporting the transformation of public health services and practices in the Region of the Americas.

This database includes over 620 academic journals, covering health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese. All articles are available full-text and the interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

The VHL provides research portals for evidence-based practice, health technology, and more, as well as specialized resources in disaster medicine, environmental health, and more.