Health of LGBTQIA+ Individuals: LGBTQIA+ Research
Created by Health Science Librarians
Featured article: Patient-centered practices for engaging transgender and gender diverse patients in clinical research studies
Databases & Collections
These databases and collections provide a range of resources on the health and well-being of LGBTQIA+ individuals. If you need help searching any of these databases or collections, please contact the Health Sciences Library staff at https://asklib.hsl.unc.edu/
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoThis large collection of videos offers a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Includes films demonstrating dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, skills such as reflection and empathy, focuses on working with specific populations such as veterans and teens, etc.
- Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality & GenderPrimary source collection (16th century to 2014) for LGBTQIA+, gender, and sexuality studies, sourced from American, Australian, British, Canadian, and South African Archives. Consists of three series: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (1940-2014); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture (20th century).
- Carolina Digital RepositoryContains a wealth of research by Carolina faculty and students on a range of topics, including LGBTQIA+ health.
- Guide to Women's and Gender StudiesHighlights women's and gender studies databases. Also provides links to library catalog searches on feminism, including lesbian feminism.
Data & Research Reports
- TransPop, United States, 2016-2018A data sample of transgender people in the U.S. Includes basic demographic data (i.e., race, age, gender, etc.), as well as data on health outcomes and experiences with discrimination. Disseminated by the Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) project of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
- Data on Transgender Adults in the United States (Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law)Contains reports detailing demographics of U.S. transgender population, including breakdowns by race, ethnicity, and health status.
- Equaldex.comA crowd-sourced site documenting legislation related to the rights of LGBTQ+ people.
- Health Data & Statistics (Research Guide)Data and statistics from North Carolina, United States, and global sources.
- Healthcare Equality Index 2020 (from the Human Rights Campaign, or HRC)Assesses and ranks healthcare facilities based on the extent to which their policies promote LGBTQ equity.
- Identity, Stress, and Health of LGBTQ People in the US (Williams Institute)From the website: "[A] data interactive summariz[ing] key findings on a variety of LGBTQ-relevant topics"
- Latinx LGBT Adults in the US: LGBT Well-Being at the Intersection of RaceCitation: Wilson, B.D.M., Mallory, C., Bouton, L., & Choi, S.K. (2021). Latinx LGBT Adults in the U.S. Los Angeles, CA: The Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law.
A report on the health and experiences of Latinx individuals in the United States. - LGBT Data (created by Dr. Randall Sell of Drexel University)Contains links to survey data collected from sexual and gender minority communities. Includes recommendations for collecting data.
- LGBTQ+ Health (MedlinePlus)Contains statistical research data. Also includes information about clinical trials and links to websites of health experts.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Health (CDC)Highlights data, statistics, and recent research pertaining to sexual and gender minority populations. Contains a resources section with links to research reports and data sets.
- The Report of the 2019 Southern LGBTQ Health Survey (Campaign for Southern Equality)Compiles the results of a survey of 5,167 LGBTQ Southerners sharing their experiences with healthcare providers.
Research Organizations
- American Institute of BisexualityBisexuality research organization. Publishes the Journal of Bisexuality.
- Center for Population Research in LGBT Health (Fenway Institute)Supports research on the health of sexual and gender minorities. Priorities include identifying gaps in research, training scientists, and promoting culturally competent care.
- National Coalition for LGBT HealthEngages in advocacy, training, and research activities to promote LGBT health.
- Center of Excellence for Transgender HealthPromotes transgender health and well being through research projects and healthcare provider education.
Related Research Guides
- Implicit BiasBooks and articles on implicit bias in health and medicine, as well as other fields.
- Qualitative Research ResourcesExplanations of qualitative research methods and information about UNC's qualitative research support services.
- Health Data & StatisticsData and statistics from North Carolina, United States, and global sources.
Connect with us
