Skip to main content

Language Learning: Romance Languages

Other Librarians

Teresa Chapa
Latin American, Iberian and Latina/o Studies Librarian
Contact Info:
(919) 962-3948

French

French Language Audiobook

French Language Kits - The Media & Design Center offers a variety of French Language Kits to help facilitate in learning the French Language.

French Dictionaries - UNC Libraries have several French Language Dictionaries for checkout. Such as Dictionary of modern colloquial French and The Spiers and Surenne's French and English Pronouncing Dictionary.

French Grammar - There are many free resources online to study and learn French, such as ielanguages.com.

French Customs - When showing interest in learning a different language, it's important to also learn some of the customs of native speakers. Many resources can found in the library and online for example, Passport France : your pocket guide to French business, customs & etiquette, The French way : aspects of behavior, attitudes, and customs of the French, Kwintessential, and BBC Languages.

French Movies - The MDC also has many movies created by French speaking countries from all over the world to help facilitate learning in all your language pursuits. Here are just few of the titles available. 

Movie Poster for Belle de Jour        Movie Poster for Viva Riva        Movie Poster for Les Visiteurs du Soir        Movie Poster for La Cage Aux Folles (The Birdcage)

Italian

Italian Language Audiobook

Italian Language Kits The Media & Design Center offers a variety of Italian Language Kits to help facilitate in learning the Italian Language.

Italian Dictionaries - UNC Libraries have several Italian Language Dictionaries for checkout. Such as A New Dictionary of the English and Italian Languages and The New Pocket Dictionary of the Italian and English Languages.

Italian Grammar - There are many resources online, many of them free, to study and learn Italian. These are just a few of those sites, Italian Grammar, The Oxford Italian Grammar and Verbs, BBC Languages, and One World Italiano.

Italian Customs - When showing interest in learning a different language, it is important to also learn some of the customs of native speakers. Many resources can found in the library and online. For example, Italian languages, and everyculture.com.

Italian Movies - The MDC also has many movies in Italian to help facilitate learning in all your language pursuits. Here are just few of the titles available. 

Movie Poster for The Orange Thief          Movie Poster for My Brother is an Only Child       Movie Poster for Ciao, Professore!      Movie Poster for Fiorile        Movie Poster for Gomorrah

Portuguese

Portuguese Language Audiobook

Portuguese Language Kits The Media & Design Center offers a variety of Portuguese Language Kits to help facilitate in learning the Portuguese Language.

Portuguese Dictionaries - UNC Libraries have several Portuguese Language Dictionaries for checkout. Such as the Compact Dictionary of the Portuguese and English Languages and The New Appleton dictionary of the English and Portuguese languages.

Portuguese Grammar - There are many resources online, many of them free, to study and learn Portuguese. These are just a few of those sites, Brazilian Portuguese Grammar Guide, ielanguages.com and BBC Languages.

Portuguese Customs - When showing interest in learning a different language, it is important to also learn some of the customs of native speakers. Many resources can found in the library and online. For example, Kwintessential.com and Culture Crossing.

Portuguese Movies - The MDC also has many movies created by Portuguese-speaking countries from all over the world to help facilitate learning in all your language pursuits. Here are just few of the titles available.

Movie Poster for Neighboring Sounds      Movie Poster for Mysteries of Lisbon     Movie Poster for Elite Squad      Movie Poster for Tabu

 

Spanish

Spanish Language Audiobook

Spanish Language Kits The Media & Design Center offers a variety of Spanish Language Kits to help facilitate in learning the Spanish Language.

Spanish Dictionaries - UNC Libraries have several Spanish Language Dictionaries for checkout. Such as the Webster's new world English-Spanish/Spanish-English Business Dictionary and Vocabulario Vaquero = Cowboy Talk : A Dictionary of Spanish Terms from the American West.

Spanish Grammar - There are many resources online, many of them free, to study and learn Spanish. These are just a few of those sites, StudySpanish.com, Span¡shDict, and ielanguages.com.

Spanish Customs - When showing interest in learning a different language, it is important to also learn some of the customs of native speakers. Many resources can found in the library and online. For example, donQuijote.org, Kwintessential.com and MyPeru.org.

Spanish Movies - The MDC also has many movies created by Spanish-speaking countries from all over the world to help facilitate learning in all your language pursuits. Here are just few of the titles available.


Movie Poster for La Tigra Chaco      Movie Poster for Casa de mi Padre      Movie Poster for Los Heroes del Norte     Movie Poster for Like Water for Chocolate

Media Librarian

Winifred Metz's picture
Winifred Metz
Contact:
Media & Design Center,
Undergraduate Library
(919) 962-4099
  • Last Updated: Mar 24, 2021 10:21 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/mdc/language