Medieval Art & Architecture: Background Information

A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.

A handbook focused on medieval culture. Available online through UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.

The dictionary contains some 3,400 terms as headwords, ranging from the legal and ecclesiastic to the more prosaic words of daily life. Latin was the language of the church, law and government, and many Latin terms illustrated here are frequently found in modern books of history of the period; similarly, the precise meaning of Old English and Middle English terms may elude today's reader: this dictionary endeavours to provide clarity.

People, places, events, subjects and concepts are defined in articles varying from brief descriptions to full length studies.

How to Read Medieval Art introduces the art of the European Middle Ages through 50 notable examples from the Metropolitan Museum's collection, which is one of the most comprehensive in the world. Formal explorations of individual works, chosen to exemplify key ideas crucial to understanding medieval art, are accompanied by relevant information about the context in which they were created, conveying the works' visual nuances but also their broader symbolic meaning.

A dictionary reference to the topics, themes, symbols, and stories found in early Christian, Western Medieval, and Byzantine art.

Cites references for articles on medieval iconography in English and every other major European language. Encompasses illuminated medieval manuscripts, sculpture, medieval encyclopedias, preaching handbooks, illustrated bestiaries, alchemy, astrology, costumes, and medieval ideas of beauty and the body.

The Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources is an indispensable guide to the study of the Latin Middle Ages in Britain from the sixth century to the sixteenth.

Anyone and everyone of note, who lived between the 5th and 15th centuries, appears in this 'Who's Who' of the Middle Ages. Listed alphabetically each entry includes both personal and historical details, along with references to further sources. The book also has useful lists of events, popes, emperors and monarchs, colleges and universities, monasteries, abbeys and convents, and a list of individuals according to their occupation.