Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

MEJO 701: Research Methods: Company Research

Company Financials

ABI/Inform Collection
Articles in business, finance, management, accounting, advertising, banking, insurance, marketing, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications. 1971-current.

See especially Hoover's Company Records for private companies.

Business Source Premier
Industry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.
Orbis
Over 35 million public and private companies worldwide. Each company includes financial data, merger and stock data. Links to news about company and industry, including section on negative news.

Permits searching by subsidiary (i.e., Disney --> ESPN).

Search for Chapel Hill, select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to log in.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Osiris
Company data for publicly-traded companies, including ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates and stock data. Click on Financial data on the left to see: ratios, cash flow, and "spreadsheet format" to download to Excel .
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1996 - present
Value Line Research Center
Great financial data, including historical and projected prices, key financials, and a short quarterly analyst opinion. Updated monthly.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 3 years of quarterly reports.

Business News

U.S. Newsstream
National and international newspapers, wires and some TV / radio transcripts.
Includes: the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Guardian (U.K.).
International Newsstream
World news and other articles from newspapers, broadcast, wire feeds, trade journals, and more.
Includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, and The Daily Telegraph.

Nexis Uni
Articles from over 900 English language newspapers and law reviews. Formerly known as LexisNexis.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Factiva
U.S. newspapers include the Wall Street Journal and other business titles.
Tech Note Go to Search / Search Builder to start searching. More help from: Factiva User Guide from ProQuest (pdf)

Tip See this Search
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

What Does It Mean?

A Dictionary of Finance and Banking
Easy-to-understand definitions of terms used in finance, investing, markets, banking, and more. c2018.

From Oxford University Press.

Free Business Websites

Big Charts
Make stock charts for thousands of public companies. Data elements include stock quotes, earnings, dividends, ratios, dividends. Show current and historic data. Great visuals.
Google Finance
Search by company name or ticker symbol. Retrieve news, charts, related companies, officers, and more. Links to information on that company via "external links."

SEC Filings

EDGAR Company Filings
Search for company information. Company filings are available starting in 1994.