Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 701: Research Methods: Additional Resources
Scholarly Articles
- Business Source PremierIndustry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextArticles about nursing and allied health. Includes practice guidelines and consumer/patient teaching materials. 1982-present.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteArticles in communication, mass media, and advertising. Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s.
- ERICScholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. 1966-present.
- PsycInfoScholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, education, social science, & business. 1872-present.
- PubMedSearch all aspects of health and medicine, largely from a clinical, medical perspective.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science. International scope. Excellent for citation searching. 1996-present for citation searching; 1966 to present for general searching.
- Sociological AbstractsScholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. 1963-present.
- Cochrane LibrarySystematic reviews in health care. Results from CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more.
Search box at top right OR click on Cochrane Reviews & select Search Reviews (CDSR) from the pull-down.
Historic Communication Articles
Find Print Copies of Journal Articles
Use print edition of journal or Interlibrary Loan to get articles identified from the sources below.
- Communication Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in a wide variety of communication disciplines. 4-6 issues per year. Covers articles published 1978-2010. Available in print at the Park and Davis Libraries.
- Journalism Quarterly
Search for articles in Communication & Mass Media Complete; use Park Library (1931-present) or Davis Library (1928-present) print copies for full-text.
TIP: Retrospective subject and author index for issues 1-60 published in 1984.
In 1995, title changed to Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, published by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. Online index available in Communication & Mass Media Complete from 1975-present.
Google Scholar @ UNC
Search Google Scholar via this link for easy access to full-text!
Advanced Tips & Tricks
Search by
- Methodology (see explanation)
- Age
- Classification Code (see codes)
- ... more info ...
Use MeSH terms! Communication terms include:
- Search by author affiliation
- Sort results by "cited by" to see hot articles in your topic