The Health Sciences Library provides several mobile apps and websites for the UNC-Chapel Hill and UNC Hospitals community.
This diagnosis app includes a suite of McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine diagnostic resources including Diagnosaurus 2.0, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, the Quick Medical Dx & Tx (QMDT), and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android. App will work offline.
An app designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Search & browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android, Palm, Windows. FREE
Prepare for the medical boards with online board-style practice questions from BoardVitals.
1. Navigate to the Google Play store on Android or the Apple App Store on iOS.
2. Search for "BoardVitals."
3. Tap download.
4. To access your subscription, use the same log in credentials you used to register your BoardVitals account.
Translator app for clinicians interacting with limited-English patients. Includes a large library of pre-translated phrases with text and audio in 15 languages. Set up a link to UNC Health Care or UNC Dentistry translation services.
Canopy Speak Medical Translator App Access Instructions
The ClinicalKey app enables users to use ClinicalKey on the go via their mobile device. These instructions describe how
to download and access the app and utilize key features.
Access Clinical Key on your mobile device using one of these two options:
Mobile-Optimized Website; comprehensive option includes all Clinical Key content. Requires active web connection.
Initial Use and Authentication Instructions
You must first create a personal account within ClinicalKey while on campus.
At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.
Sign up today for a personal user account and access DynaMed on-the-go. Your personal user account allows you to sign-in to DynaMed from any device. Once created, your personal user account seamlessly tracks your DynaMed usage for CME and MOC credit and provides easy access to recent searches and followed content anytime you sign-in.
To create your personal user account:
1. Access DynaMed from your institution and click on “SIGN IN” in the upper right-hand corner of the screen
2. Click “Register now” and complete the form
3. Go to www.dynamed.com and use your new credentials to access DynaMed anytime, anywhere!
Free, clinical decision support tool app. Provides drug, disease, and diagnostic reference. iPhone, iPad, Android. Individual subscription version available with enhanced content in Epocrates Plus
To educate families about the heart, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center offers an interactive, 3D app for iPhones, iPads and Android Devices. The app shows anatomically accurate images of congenital heart defects and repairs of those defects.Heartpedia includes an interactive model of a normal heart in addition to interactive models of several defects and their associated repairs.
IMAIOS e-Anatomy is an atlas of human anatomy for physicians, radiologists, medical students and radiographers, with over 375,000 anatomic structures and more than 5,400 translated medical labels. iPhone, iPad, Android
Download the current Red Book, containing information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. iPhone, iPad, Android. App will work offline.
1.Go to Red Book Online on your desktop.
2. Click the "Log In/ Log Out" link on the top left.
3. Click "Sign In for Individuals."
4. Click "New Customer Registration."
5. Follow the prompts.
6. When asked who you are creating an account for, click "Individual". You will receive a confirmation email with an AAP ID. This will be your login ID.
7. Download the Red Book Online app from the iTunes or Google Play app store and use the AAP ID and the password you created to log into the website and the app. NOTE: There may be a lag of up to 20 minutes before the app will allow you to login after first creating your AAP ID.
8. To maintain access, you must sign in to Red Book Online every 180 days through the UNC-Chapel Hill network, either on-site or through a VPN.
Access selected medical, dental, nursing and pharmacological textbooks and dictionaries, as well as medical calculators, ACP Smart Medicine, and AHFS DI Essentials. iPhone, iPad, Android
1. CREATE a TDS Health Profile Account
Access your TDS Health subscription as you normally would using an official login method. This would be authentication based on the IP addresses of your institution and/or full user accounts usually via a desktop or laptop computer while at your institution or through a proxy server login (using your institutional login). Click the Profile link above the search bar. If you have already created a Profile account (formerly called a My STAT!Ref account) skip down to Step 4. If you do not have a Profile account, click Register.
2. ACTIVATE Your Login
Activate your username and password as an Anywhere Login Account. By activating the Anywhere Login Account, you’ll be enabling your username and password to open the app.
Go to the “Welcome” and your name drop down and click “Anywhere Login Account.”
Click the “Activate”button.
3: ENABLE Your Mobile App Using Your AnywhereLogin Account
On your mobile device go to Apps and tap on the STAT!Ref icon.
Enter your email address as your username and the password you created. The password is case sensitive. You can choose to save your login information to your device. You have now enabled your app.
4. RENEW Your Account: Renewing an AnywhereLogin Account
To protect a subscription from unauthorized use, it is required that users re-authenticate their AnywhereLogin Accounts at pre-determined intervals.
Access your TDS Health subscription as you normally would using an official login method. This would be authentication based on the IP addresses of your institution and/or full user accounts usually via a desktop or laptop computer while at your institution or through a proxy server login (using your institutional login). You CANNOT do this from the mobile app.
Click the Profile link above the search bar. Login if necessary using your Profile username and password.
Click the “AnywhereLogin Account” tab and click the “Renew” button.
NOTE: An expiration email reminder for users of AnywhereLogin Accounts are sent 10 days and then again 1 day prior to expiration. You can still renew even if your login expires. You just won’t be able to use the app until you renew the AnywhereLogin Account.
A point-of-care visual diagnostic clinical decision support system including more than 17,000 dermatology, oral pathology, ophthalmology, public health, drug reaction, and other images; differential builder, travel info, mobile app available. Enter a travel destination to see all currently endemic diseases and/or outbreaks.
Initial Use and Authentication Instructions:
If you are off campus or using the Micromedex apps, you will need a password which you can get one of two ways:
Access the Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics using a mobile app :
Access EBSCO's many databases on your mobile device using one of these two options:
Initial Use and Authentication Instructions
Mobile Optimized Websites
Access JoVE on your mobile device:
Mobile Optimized Websites
Canopy Speak, available for iPhone and Android phones, is a translation app that has won an award from the NIH. Try using it to bridge any communication gaps with your patients or clients.
From the Canopy web site:
Interactive Phrase Library
The phrase library is the largest corpus of pre-translated medical phrases ever developed, organized by frequently encountered procedures and medical specialties, and available in text and audio in 15 languages. Use the phrases to break the ice with a patient before the interpreter arrives or for basic instruction for an exam during rounds.
Connect with Live Interpreters
The "Call Interpreter" function provides a seamless channel directly to your facility's over-the-phone interpreter line.
Canopy Speak currently has 10 sections: General, Anesthesia, Dentistry, Dermatology, Emergency Medicine, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Ophthalmology, Pediatrics.
Canopy Speak for Android:
Canopy Speak for iOS:
Once you create an account, Canopy Speak will ask for information about your profession, including your affiliation.