African Americans in North Carolina: General Resources

Driving along the coasts of the American South, we see miles of luxury condominiums, timeshare resorts, and gated communities. Yet, a century ago, a surprising amount of beachfront property in the Chesapeake, along the Carolina shore, and around the Gulf of Mexico was owned and populated by African Americans. In a pathbreaking combination of social and environmental history, Andrew W. Kahrl shows how the rise and fall of Jim Crow and the growing prosperity of the Sunbelt have transformed both communities and ecosystems along the southern seaboard. Kahrl traces the history of these dynamic coastlines in all their incarnations, from unimproved marshlands to segregated beaches, from exclusive resorts for the black elite to campgrounds for religious revival. His careful reconstruction of African American life, labor, and leisure in small oceanside communities reveals the variety of ways African Americans pursued freedom and mobility through the land under their feet. The Land Was Ours makes unexpected connections between two seemingly diverse topics: African Americans' struggles for economic empowerment and the ecology of coastal lands. Kahrl's innovative approach allows him fresh insights into the rise of African American consumers and the widespread campaigns to dispossess blacks of their property. His skillful portrayal of African American landowners and real-estate developers rescues the stories of these architects of the southern landscape from historical neglect. Ultimately, Kahrl offers readers a thoughtful, judicious appraisal of the ambiguous legacy of racial progress in the Sunbelt.

The 18 essays in this collection recognize not only a far greater African American presence in the highland South than was once assumed, but a wider variety of interaction between blacks and whites during the 19th century. The book explores topics including black migration and musical influences.

In this collection of essays produced over the past two decades, the author investigates how historical truths have been reshaped by later generations. Blending fact and fiction, reality and perception, this book represents a multifaceted embodiment of a unique time and place in American history.

These pages contain a wealth of information transcribed from obscure and fragile, original documents housed at the North Carolina State Archives. Papers were listed under the general headings of "Slaves and Free Negroes," "Slaves and Free Persons of Color from Burke, Lincoln, and Rowan counties.

In the 1910s, both W. E. B. Du Bois and Booker T. Washington praised the black community in Durham, North Carolina, for its exceptional race progress. Migration, urbanization, and industrialization had turned black Durham from a post-Civil War liberation community into the "capital of the black middle class." African Americans owned and operated mills, factories, churches, schools, and an array of retail services, shops, community organizations, and race institutions. Using interviews, narratives, and family stories, Leslie Brown animates the history of this remarkable city from emancipation to the civil rights era, as freedpeople and their descendants struggled among themselves and with whites to give meaning to black freedom.Brown paints Durham in the Jim Crow era as a place of dynamic change where despite common aspirations, gender and class conflicts emerged. Placing African American women at the center of the story, Brown describes how black Durham's multiple constituencies experienced a range of social conditions. Shifting the historical perspective away from seeing solidarity as essential to effective struggle or viewing dissent as a measure of weakness, Brown demonstrates that friction among African Americans generated rather than depleted energy, sparking many activist initiatives on behalf of the black community.

At the close of the nineteenth century, the Democratic Party in North Carolina engineered a white supremacy revolution. Frustrated by decades of African American self-assertion and threatened by an interracial coalition advocating democratic reforms, white conservatives used violence, demagoguery, and fraud to seize political power and disenfranchise black citizens. The most notorious episode of the campaign was the Wilmington "race riot" of 1898, which claimed the lives of many black residents and rolled back decades of progress for African Americans in the state.Published on the centennial of the Wilmington race riot, Democracy Betrayed draws together the best new scholarship on the events of 1898 and their aftermath. Contributors to this important book hope to draw public attention to the tragedy, to honor its victims, and to bring a clear and timely historical voice to the debate over its legacy.The contributors are David S. Cecelski, William H. Chafe, Laura F. Edwards, Raymond Gavins, Glenda E. Gilmore, John Haley, Michael Honey, Stephen Kantrowitz, H. Leon Prather Sr., Timothy B. Tyson, LeeAnn Whites, and Richard Yarborough.

This work examines the counter-narratives of social actors that may be used as resources to promote and create social change, particularly racial change.

Life in Raleigh's African American communities.

PhD dissertation produced in the Department of History, UNC-Chapel Hill

This volume draws on 17th- and 18th-century sources to trace the history of African americans, slave and free, in North Carolina through 1800. documents are used to outline the arrive of Africans, mechanisms for maintaining slavery, slave resistance, manumission, and the challenges facing free blacks. This book presents in an accessible format a variety of primary sources, which are suitable for classroom use and have appeal for anyone curious about the lives of black North Carolinians during the state's earliest years.

First one-volume survey published on the subject of African American history in North Carolina. First published in 1992. Traces the colonial era up through the 1990s.

This is the dramatic, exciting, authoritative story of the experiences of African Americans from the time they left Africa to their continued struggle for equality at the end of the twentieth century. Since its original publication in 1947,From Slavery to Freedomhas stood as the definitive his-tory of African Americans. Coauthors John Hope Franklin and Alfred A. Moss, Jr., give us a vividly detailed account of the journey of African Americans from their origins in the civilizations of Africa, through their years of slavery in the New World, to the successful struggle for freedom and its aftermath in the West Indies, Latin America, and the United States. This eighth edition has been revised to include expanded coverage of Africa; additional material in every chapter on the history and current situation of African Americans in the United States; new charts, maps, and black-and-white illustrations; and a third four-page color insert. The authors incorporate recent scholarship to examine slavery, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and the period between World War I and World War II (including the Harlem Renaissance). From Slavery to Freedomdescribes the rise of slavery, the interaction of European and African cultures in the New World, and the emergence of a distinct culture and way of life among slaves and free blacks. The authors examine the role of blacks in the nation's wars, the rise of an articulate, restless free black community by the end of the eighteenth century, and the growing resistance to slavery among an expanding segment of the black population. The book deals in considerable detail with the period after slavery, including the arduous struggle for first-class citizenship that has extended into the twentieth century. Many developments in recent African American history are examined, including demographic change; educational efforts; literary and cultural changes; problems in housing, health, juvenile matters, and poverty; the expansion of the black middle class; and the persistence of discrimination in the administration of justice. All who are interested in African Americans' continuing quest for equality will find a wealth of information based on the recent findings of many scholars. Professors Franklin and Moss have captured the tragedies and triumphs, the hurts and joys, the failures and successes, of blacks in a lively and readable volume that remains the most authoritative and comprehensive book of its kind.

Historical treatments of race during the early twentieth century have generally focused on black women's activism. Leading books about the disenfranchisement era hint that black men withdrew from positions of community leadership until later in the century. Angela Hornsby-Gutting argues that middle-class black men in North Carolina in fact actively responded to new manifestations of racism. Focusing on the localized, grassroots work of black men during this period, she offers new insights about rarely scrutinized interracial dynamics as well as the interactions between men and women in the black community. Informed by feminist analysis, Hornsby-Gutting uses gender as the lens through which to view cooperation, tension, and negotiation between the sexes and among African American men during an era of heightened race oppression. Her work promotes improved understanding of the construct of gender during these years, and expands the vocabulary of black manhood beyond the "great man ideology" which has obfuscated alternate, localized meanings of politics, manhood, and leadership.

John Hope Franklin has devoted his professional life to the study of African Americans. Originally published in 1943 by UNC Press, The Free Negro in North Carolina, 1790-1860 was his first book on the subject. As Franklin shows, freed slaves in the antebellum South did not enjoy the full rights of citizenship. Even in North Carolina, reputedly more liberal than most southern states, discriminatory laws became so harsh that many voluntarily returned to slavery.

In 1988 Greenwood Press published the "Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery" to wide acclaim by the library community and scholars in the field. The "Dictionary" was issued at a time when the study of slavery commanded a central place in American historical thinking and, increasingly, in a host of other disciplines as well. Interest in slavery has not abated. Yet, despite a growing sophistication in methodology and complexity of analysis, the basic contours of the study of slavery remain much the same as when the "Dictionary" first appeared. To take the latest scholarship into account, the editors have added a new introduction surveying the principal themes in research and writing over the past decade and have appended a bibliography, arranged by broad thematic areas keyed to topics treated in the text. In 1988 Greenwood Press published the "Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery" to wide acclaim by the library community and scholars in the field. It was selected as a Best Reference Book by "Library Journal," a "Choice" Outstanding Academic Book, and an American Library Association Outstanding Reference Book. Historian John Hope Franklin declared it an indispensable tool for all students of human bondage, while the "Journal of the Early Republic" announced it has something for everyone interested in Afro-American slavery, from the general reader to undergraduate student to professional historian. The "Dictionary" appeared at a time when the study of slavery commanded a central place in American historical thinking and, increasingly, in a host of other disciplines as well. Interest in slavery has not abated. Yet, despite a growing sophistication in methodology and complexity of analysis, the basic contours of the study remain much the same as when the "Dictionary" was first issued. To take the latest scholarship into account, the editors have appended a bibliography, arranged by broad thematic areas keyed to topics treated in the text. The bibliography, augmented by the historiographical review of the scholarship of the last decade, makes the "Dictionary" an invaluable guide for students and scholars alike.

Table of Contents: Foreword / John Hope Franklin -- Brief History of African Americans in North Carolina / Jeffrey J. Crow -- North Carolina Reference Map : Historic and Cultural Sites -- Essay / Mary Regan -- Events, Festivals, and Celebrations -- Musicians and artists of North Carolina