This guide is designed to assist researchers investigating the history and culture of African Americans in North Carolina and was first created to support UNC-Chapel Hill's AAAD 254: African Americans in North Carolina course. All of the resources included can be found at UNC's Wilson Special Collections Library, mostly from the North Carolina Collection, and many can also be found online. This guide does not include all of the materials about African American history held at Wilson Library, but is intended to serve as a starting point for research.
While this is a reference for special collections material, this additional guide will also provide assistance and suggestions for other kinds of research materials across the UNC libraries.
Subjects covered by this guide:
- General Resources - this section introduces the researcher to reference materials, historical surveys, and larger topics assisting in researching African Americans in North Carolina.
- Art and Culture - this section provides an introductory list to materials related to the creative arts and expressive culture of African Americans in North Carolina.
- Education - this section introduces the subject of education for African Americans in North Carolina.
- Slavery and Reconstruction - this section provides a list of materials related to the African American experience during the antebellum era and Reconstruction in North Carolina.
- Civil Rights - this section provides an introduction to materials related to the Civil Rights Era in North Carolina.
- Additional Resources - this section lists opportunities for further research.
- Registering and Requesting Materials - this page provides details about visiting Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC-Chapel Hill.