Skip to Main Content

African Americans in North Carolina: Slavery and Reconstruction

A Bibliography of Sources Available in the North Carolina Collection and Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Books

Digital and Archival Resources

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938

A Library of Congress resource. More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of formerly enslaved people, some from North Carolina.

Federal Writers' Project Papers, 1936-1940

Part of the Wilson Library Southern Historical Collection. Includes the life histories of about 1,200 individuals, written by about 60 members of the project after one or more interviews with the subjects. Persons interviewed, many of them African Americans, described life in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. There is a partial index to the many occupations of those interviewed. Also included, on microfilm, are ghost stories, local legends, etc., gathered in the project.

North American Slave Narratives

This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

African American Documentary Resources at UNC Chapel Hill

This is a guide to researching African Americans in the Southern Historical Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, a collection of manuscripts and primary documents related to the American South.

Other LibGuides for Wilson Special Collections Library materials

Civil War Resources at Wilson Special Collections Library

Reconstruction Era Resources at Wilson Special Collections Library

Suggested subject heading

  • Last Updated: Jul 15, 2021 11:26 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nc-african-americans-special-collections