Skip to main content

Indigenous Peoples of North Carolina: General Resources

A Bibliography of Sources Available in the North Carolina Collection, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

General Resources

Newspaper Clippings and Journal Articles

Indians of North Carolina 
C970.01 I39 
(3 volumes)

These newspaper articles about North Carolina Indians through 1975 have been collected since the 1920s, though some articles may date back farther. These are primarily from North Carolina newspapers. Many of the articles are arranged by tribe. Articles from 1976-1989 are bound in with general subject clippings (CR917 N87). Recent articles (1990 through present) are available at the reference desk.

Bulletin of the Archaeological Society of North Carolina. vol. 1 - 4, 1934-38. 
C970.01 A66b

Nearly all of the articles in this journal discuss American Indians in North Carolina -- particularly Indian artifacts. Also includes site reports from excavations led by the society.

North Carolina Archaeology (formerly Southern Indian Studies), vol. 1, 1949 - present. 
C970.01 S72

This journal, published once a year by the North Carolina Archaeological Society, contains "information pertaining to the life and customs of the Indians in the Southern states, both prehistoric and historic." It deals largely with archaeological matters -- studies of artifacts and reports on recent excavations. There are, occasionally, some articles that approach the subject from a more historical perspective. The journal is also available online through UNC-Chapel Hill's Research Laboratory of Archaeology. 

Tar Heel Junior Historian, vol. 1, 1961/62 - present. 
C970 T16j

The first story in the first issue of this magazine was entitled "Indians in North Carolina." Tar Heel Junior Historian, published twice a year by the North Carolina Museum of History, contains short, informative articles on North Carolina history and famous North Carolinians. Pieces on American Indians are often included. The journal is also available online

Tips for Further Research

In the UNC Libraries online catalog, most materials on Native Carolinians are listed under the following subject headings:

Indians of North America--North Carolina

North Carolina--Indians

There are additional, more specific subject headings that may also be useful for researchers. The following are just a few examples:

Indians of North America--Southern States

Cherokee Indians--North Carolina 

Lumbee Indians--North Carolina 

Indians, treatment of--North Carolina 

Please note that many of the North Carolina Collection’s holdings are cataloged only in the library’s card catalog. General sources are listed under the subject NORTH CAROLINA – INDIANS, while publications on specific tribes are listed under the name of the tribe. The following tribes are listed separately in the North Carolina Collection’s card catalog:

Algonquian 
Catawba 
Cherokee 
Coharie 
Eno 
Haliwa 
Lumbee 
Machapunga 
Mattamuskeet 
Occonneechee 
Saponi 
Saura 
Siouan 
Tuscarora 
Waccamaw

Archival and Digital Resources

The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database is an invaluable resource for researching Native community, history, and culture in North Carolina. To begin, simply search the database for keywords such as a tribe or a personal name. The collection can also be searched by ethnicity.

  • Last Updated: Sep 29, 2020 9:40 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nc-indigenous