Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Agriculture in North Carolina: Crops & Livestock
Tobacco
-
Annual Report of the Bureau of Labor and Printing of the State of North Carolina.
Call Number: C331 N87LPublication Date: 1887-1972Published annually from 1887-1972, this report lists statistics on tobacco factories within each North Carolina county. Employee and wage information is also included. After the 1930s, the reports become more general and do not contain industry-specific information. -
The Mighty Leaf: Tobacco Through the Centuries
by
Call Number: C679 B87mPublication Date: 1952A historical overview of the tobacco industry in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
-
The Bright-Tobacco Industry, 1860-1929
by
Call Number: C679 T57bPublication Date: 1948A history of the manufacture of tobacco from 1860-1929, highlighting North Carolina's ascent as a leader in the industry.
-
The R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
by
Call Number: C679.1 R45tPublication Date: 1985The history of R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company and how it developed into a leading tobacco manufacturer in the United States.
-
Green Leaf and Gold: Tobacco in North Carolina
by
Call Number: Cp679 B87gPublication Date: 1962A history of the tobacco industry in North Carolina, published jointly by the State Department of Archives and History and R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company.
-
The American Tobacco Story
Call Number: Cp679.1 A51Publication Date: 1962A history of the American Tobacco Company.
-
The Southern Tobacco Journal
Call Number: FC633 S72Publication Date: 1923-1978This periodical was published for the members of the tobacco industry in the region. Advertisements, articles, and columns focus on the interests of tobacco growers and manufacturers.
National Crop Production Annual Summary provided by the National Agricultural Statistics Service, including statistics about tobacco.
Hog Farming
North Carolina is second in the nation in hog production. Here are some primary and secondary resources about this important aspect of agriculture in North Carolina.
To see how North Carolina compares to other states in hog production, please see the U.S. National Agricultural Statistics Service.
-
N.C. Pork Report: A Newsletter for the Members of the N.C. Pork Council
Call Number: C636.4 N87nPublication Date: 1991-presentThis is a magazine published by the North Carolina Pork Council with recipes, advertisements, people, pork industry group report, legislative report, and veterinary advice. The magazine is currently received, but not all issues are bound. The NCC has holdings beginning at 1991.
-
High on the Hog: Swine as Culture and Commodity in Eastern North Carolina
by
Call Number: C636.4 T474hPublication Date: 2000This dissertation is a history of swine in North Carolina, with an emphasis on eastern North Carolina. It also contains information about the evolution of swine husbandry in the state and a bibliography.
-
Your Freedom Ends Where My Nose Begins": Conflicting Views of Large-Scale Hog Farms in Eastern North Carolina
by
Call Number: Call Number: C636.4 M167yPublication Date: 2000This dissertation contains statistics and information about the hog industry and hog farming in North Carolina. It also contains a bibliography. It discusses the public opposition to the large-scale farming industry in eastern North Carolina and the different activist groups involved, including African American groups.
-
"Everything but the Squeal: Pork as Culture in Eastern North Carolina," North Carolina Historical Review
by
Call Number: Cp970 N87hi v. 82, no. 4Publication Date: 2005This essay contains information about slaves and pork, the history of pork in the diets of North Carolinians, and the state's dependence on pork in the 20th century. Also contains a bibliography.
Cotton
-
Breaking the Land: The Transformation of Cotton, Tobacco, and Rice Cultures Since 1880
by
Call Number: C630.9 D18bPublication Date: 1985Look at the chapter entitled "The Southern Enclosure," which covers these industries in the South. Discusses farming methods of tobacco. Includes a bibliography and index.
-
The Politics of Agricultural Labor : from slavery to freedom in a cotton culture, 1862-1902
by
Call Number: C677 H66pISBN: 081532541XPublication Date: 1997-05-01
-
North Carolina Cotton Grower
Call Number: FFC633 N87cPublication Date: 1923-1933Editorials, local and national news, information about pertinent legislation, and how-to guides.
National Cotton Ginnings Annual Summary provided by the National Agricultural Statistics Service
Other Industries
North Carolina Christmas tree production ranks second in the nation, behind Oregon, and the state ranks third nationally in peanut production. For a general overview of these industries, look in any of our reference resources, under the General Resources tab. For statistics about these crops, by year and by county, see the list of periodicals published by the North Carolina Department of Agricuture listed in this guide, also under the General Resources tab.
-
North Carolina Choose and Cut Christmas Tree GuideCall Number: Cp635.9 N87nPublication Date: 2002-presentFacts about the Christmas tree farming industry in North Carolina, types of trees sold, and where the farms are.
-
Limbs & NeedlesCall Number: C634.9 L733nPublication Date: 1989-presentThis periodical is published three times per year and contains information about the industry, legislative updates, new products on the market, and photographs of members.
-
North Carolina Dairy Extension NewslettterCall Number: C637 D13ePublication Date: 1951-1994This monthly newsletter contains how-to articles written by doctors such as "Guard Against Bloat," local news, cartoons, and a calendar of events.
-
The Peanut FarmerCall Number: C633.36 P35Publication Date: 1967-2004Like Peanut News, this magazine is another source for news, research advances, and other industry information.
-
Peanut NewsCall Number: FC634.58 P35Publication Date: 1955-2001This magazine for peanut farmers chronicles advances in peanut research. Also contains advertisements and informative articles.
Note: The North Carolina Collection has holdings of this periodical from 1955 to 2001. In some years, it is called Virginia-Carolina Peanut News. If you need help locating a particular year or volume, ask anyone at the North Carolina Collection reference desk for assistance.