Agriculture in North Carolina: History of NC Agriculture

Good narrative of agriculture, written by a UNC professor. Contains information about food, settlements, fertilizers, farm implements, livestock, and farms in 1860. Includes suggestions for further reading. Many later titles cite this book.

Gives a more comprehensive view of the entire South. Contains a specific chapter about the Carolinas called "Beginnings of Agriculture in the Carolinas." Discusses Native American interaction with settlers and includes a chapter about slaves. Includes a bibliography and an index.

Although many specialized studies have dealt with the colonial and antebellum American South, very little attention has been paid to the Southern agricultural frontiers before 1860. This study focuses on agriculture, the primary economic activity and the single most important factor in shaping the South's colonial and antebellum frontiers. After examining the agricultural economy on the Southern seaboard during colonial times, Otto explains the economic and environmental forces that led to the expansion of upland and lowland agriculturalists across the trans-Appalachian South during the antebellum period. Although many specialized studies have dealt with the colonial and antebellum American South, very little attention has been paid to the Southern agricultural frontiers before 1860. This study focuses on agriculture, the primary economic activity and the single most important factor in shaping the South's colonial and antebellum frontiers. After examining the agricultural economy on the Southern seaboard during colonial times, Otto explains the economic and environmental forces that led to the expansion of upland and lowland agriculturalists across the trans-Appalachian South during the antebellum period. Synthesizing sources drawn from history, geography, anthropology, and folklife, Otto has added an important new dimension to our knowledge of the American South. This book is an appropriate resource for courses or studies in Southern and American history, historical geography, folklife, anthropology, and agricultural history.

Information about reform in the nineteenth century, cotton and tobacco, livestock, developments after the Revolutionary War, also information about slaves. Includes an index and extensive bibliography.

Discusses how North Carolina was portrayed in early New World writings, North Carolina vegetation, early settlers, slaves, taxes, major crops, minor agricultural products, prices, agricultural exports. Includes a bibliography.

Discusses Native Americans in Virginia and North Carolina and includes a bibliographical index. Most of what the North Carolina Collection has about the specific subject of Native Americans and agriculture can be found in general resources about Native Americans in North Carolina.

The autobiographies of former slaves contributed powerfully to the abolitionist movement in the United States, fanning national--even international--indignation against the evils of slavery. The four texts gathered here are all from North Carolina slaves and are among the most memorable and influential slave narratives published in the nineteenth century. The writings of Moses Roper (1838), Lunsford Lane (1842), Moses Grandy (1843), and the Reverend Thomas H. Jones (1854) provide a moving testament to the struggles of enslaved people to affirm their human dignity and ultimately seize their liberty. Introductions to each narrative provide biographical and historical information as well as explanatory notes. Andrews's general introduction to the collection reveals that these narratives not only helped energize the abolitionist movement but also laid the groundwork for an African American literary tradition that inspired such novelists as Toni Morrison and Charles Johnson.

"Forret... has deepened our understanding of the complexity of relations between slaves and poor whites." -- Georgia Historical Quarterly Covering a broad geographic scope from Virginia to South Carolina between 1820 and 1860, Jeff Forret scrutinizes relations among rural poor whites and slaves, a subject previously unexplored and certainly under-reported. Forret's findings challenge historians' long-held assumption that mutual violence and animosity characterized the two groups' interactions; he reveals that while poor whites and slaves sometimes experienced bouts of hostility, often they worked or played in harmony and camaraderie. Race Relations at the Margins is remarkable for its focus on lower-class whites and their dealings with slaves outside the purview of the master. Race and class, Forret demonstrates, intersected in unique ways for those at the margins of southern society, challenging the belief that race created a social cohesion among whites regardless of economic status. As Forret makes apparent, colonial-era flexibility in race relations never entirely disappeared despite the institutionalization of slavery and the growing rigidity of color lines. His book offers a complex and nuanced picture of the shadowy world of slave--poor white interactions, demanding a refined understanding and new appreciation of the range of interracial associations in the Old South. "A useful addition to a growing literature on nonelite southerners in plantation societies." -- Journal of Social History

Includes a bibliography and index about the family and plantation.

Weaving research and interpretation around dozens of historic sites and the lives of ordinary people who lived and worked nearby, The Way We Lived in North Carolina explores the social history of the Tar Heel State from the precolonial period to the present. First published in 1983 as a five-volume series, this comprehensive state history is now available in a revised and up-to-date single volume with more than 250 photographs and over two dozen maps. Based on the premise that the past can be most fully understood through the combined experience of reading history and visiting historic places, The Way We Lived serves as a travel guide to North Carolina's history, enhancing the reader's appreciation and understanding of historic preservation. Discussion of recently designated historic sites has been added to this edition, as have twenty-eight detailed maps newly prepared by Mark Anderson Moore. A new appendix provides an extensive list of over thirty historic sites to visit. This volume provides an entertaining and informative guide to North Carolina history for students and professionals, teens and seniors, natives and newcomers. Contributors: Elizabeth A. Fenn, Peter H. Wood, Harry L. Watson, Thomas H. Clayton, Sydney Nathans, Thomas C. Parramore, and Jean B. Anderson

Details about the operations of 19th century plantations in Franklin County, NC.

This UNC undergraduate thesis details conditions of North Carolina agriculture from 1915 to 1940, North Carolina's attempts to solve agricultural problems, and information about African Americans and agriculture. It also contains general information about North Carolina, education, and the Great Depression. Includes a bibliography.

Look at the chapter entitled "The Southern Enclosure," which covers these industries in the South. Discusses farming methods of tobacco. Includes a bibliography and index.

This online report contains some historical data, but is mostly a current snapshot of agriculture conditions. The rural center split North Carolina into seven economic development regions, rather than county, and each region contains farmers' perspectives, farm and crop receipts, population, and farm trends. A section at the beginning includes North Carolina's national rank by industry.

Details why the alliance started, and the role Farmers' Alliance played in reform. This resource is good if you're interested in unions, farmers organizing, and farmer business practices. Includes a bibliography.

A book about individual farms in North Carolina that have been owned by the same family for a century. Contains a few pages of North Carolina agricultural history, numerous pictures, and bibliographical references.