Skip to main content

Pop-Ups: SILS Library Collection

Guide to pop-up and movable books.

Pop-Ups at the SILS Library

About the SILS Library Pop-Up Book Collection:

The School of Information and Library Science (SILS) Library in Manning Hall has the largest children’s literature collection on the UNC Chapel Hill campus. The collection contains materials in a variety of formats including pop-up books, also known as movable books. In 2015, the library received a generous donation of over 1,300 pop-up and movable books from Sterling Hennis, a former UNC professor. This donation has greatly expanded our collection, which totals over 1,700 pop-up books.

Published circa 1886, The Aquarium is the oldest item in the pop-up book collection. The book was published in New York by the McLoughlin Brothers, which was the first publishing firm to create movable books in the United States. We also have many contemporary pop-up books by renowned paper engineers Robert Sabuda, Matthew Reinhart, and David Carter, and even some books by Chapel Hill-based designers Pamela Pease and Becca Zirkin.

Access:

Pop-up books are housed in the SILS Library workroom. The books are non-circulating, but may be used in the library at any time.

Search the library catalog for pop-ups

Try searching the library catalog for the following subject headings to find pop-up and movable books:

Pop-up book.
Pop-up books.
Pop-up books -- Specimens.
Toy and movable books.
Toy and movable books -- Specimens.

Try the following subject headings to find materials about making pop-ups:

Cut-out craft.
Paper work.

Learn more about pop-ups

Our collection also includes books about pop-ups. For resources on creating pop-ups, check out the How to Make Pop-Ups page.

SILS Library

SILS Library

Room Number: 115B Manning Hall
Address: 
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3360
Phone: (919) 962-8361
Email: silslibrary@unc.edu

Visit our website for hours and more information.

  • Last Updated: Aug 4, 2020 2:52 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/pop-ups