Radiologic Science: Databases
Created by Health Science Librarians
RadSci Resources Brochure
- RadSci Brochure '23Including DMS Students
Welcome
NOTE: This series was created prior to the new libraries website (2024) so website screenshots show the former website. Use of the catalog and databases remains the same, as does article searching, including advanced searching tips.
- Welcome & Orientation to HSL for Dept. of Health Sciences Students (narrated .pptx via Panopto for UNC affiliates)Introduction to some key resources available to you at HSL. How to contact the library for help, how to access research databases and guides, where to search for resources using the HSL website
• All of our online library resources can be accessed remotely with your ONYEN and password, no matter where you are located.
- Welcome & Orientation to HSL slide narrations as Word .doc (2022)These are the slide notes for the narrated PowerPoint slides making up the Panopto Welcome & Intro to the Health Sciences Library Video. The Panopto video version also contains live captioning.
- Welcome & Orientation to HSL .pptx slides as .pdf (2022)with speaker notes
NEW! Additional videos covering the following topics:
- Catalog Searching
- Using Databases
- Article Searching (including how to use Interlibrary Loan - free to you - to get articles we do not own)
- Advanced Searching Tips including
- Boolean Searching with AND, OR, NOT
- Using PubMed's MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) as an example of controlled vocabulary searching
- Advanced Searching in PubMed
Databases for Radiologic Science Students
Why use multiple databases?
Different databases focus on different areas of the literature. This is especially significant in Radiologic Science, as in other Allied Health Sciences. So, for instance, although there is substantial overlap in PubMed and EMBASE, you may find better coverage of the North American literature in PubMed and better coverage of European and non-North American literature in EMBASE.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- e-AnatomyThis anatomy reference & teaching tool displays labeled body parts using multiple imaging modalities (MRI, CT) in a sequential, slice by slice manner. Clinical cases are available.
The e-Anatomy mobile app can be downloaded from the Apple store or Google Play. - STAT!RefFull text access to over 30 selected medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes, assorted tools. For a list of subscribed titles see STAT!Ref web page. Mobile app available.
- VisualDxA point-of-care visual diagnostic clinical decision support system including more than 17,000 dermatology, oral pathology, ophthalmology, public health, drug reaction, and other images; differential builder, travel info, mobile app available. Enter a travel destination to see all currently endemic diseases and/or outbreaks.
See, also (for Radiologic Science)
See, also (for Diagnostic Medical Sonography)
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- From Purdue Libraries Creating a Search Strategy Guide: Constructing a Search Statement Worksheet (.pdf download).
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
Learn How to Use Library Databases
- Database Tips GuideLearn how to search effectively for citations and links to the full text of articles using library databases such as PubMed.
Find @ UNC
Click on the 
button in database results to:
- Go directly to most online articles
- Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
- Use Google Scholar or the Google Scholar Button browser add-in to find free full text.
- Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
- Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name