Skip to main content

Guide to Latin American & Iberian Library Resources: LAS Cooperative Collections

Cooperative Collections

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University maintain one of the oldest cooperative acquisitions programs in the country in the area of Latin American Studies. This cooperative collections agreement supports the The Consortium in Latin American Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University. Both Carolina and Duke acquire core materials from throughout Latin America to support undergraduate study. In addition, both work cooperatively to purchase research-level materials, special formats, and expensive items such as censuses, films, and large documentary microform collections. As a result, the collections are complementary and there is a low rate of duplication. The following maps and lists illustrate our cooperative collecting.

UNC-Chapel Hill is primarily responsible for collecting research materials from:

  • Argentina
  • Brazil (Carolina specializes in research materials in the humanities and literature)
  • Chile
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Haiti
  • Paraguay
  • Puerto Rico
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Duke University is primarily responsible for collecting research materials from:

  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil (Duke specializes in research material in the social sciences)
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • English-speaking Caribbean
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Peru

For more details on UNC-Chapel Hill's cooperative programs with Duke University, visit the following link:

Map of collection concentrations

  • Duke University = DUKE BLUE
  • The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill = CAROLINA BLUE
  • Shared research level collection responsibilities* = PURPLE

(* Research level collections for Brazil are divided along subject lines. Please refer to the descriptions following the maps).

  • Last Updated: Mar 30, 2021 10:04 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/romance-languages