Guide to Latin American & Iberian Library Resources: Newspapers

A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.

Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

A fully searchable digital archive of historical newspapers. The archive contains newspapers from Europe and the Americas, chiefly from the 19th century, but with some running up to the 2000s. Countries included: UK, USA, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.

Note: We are limited to 1 user at a time. Please click on 'Logoff' when you are finished with this resource.

Digital archive (1785-2019) of the British daily national newspaper, also know as The London Times and The Times of London. Please note that online coverage of The Times after the end date in this archive is available in several sources. Click here for more details.

Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

Latin American Newsstream provides over 100 full text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.

US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.