SOCI 111: Human Societies: Home

Home
Campus Resources

Research Process

Browse through some broad sources about your society or theme
Identify ideas and writings relevant to the class
Follow citations and links out to more specific sources on these themes
Search yourself for more specific sources on these by combining keywords on themes and your society.

Core Databases

Think hard about what kinds of sources will contain information about your society. We have sources based on geography, sources covering particular time periods, and discipline-specific sources.

Sociological Abstracts
Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1963-present
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1953-present
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1861 to present
Anthropology Plus
Provides citations and links to journal articles, reports, and commentaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Late 1800s - present
AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online. It has current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and archives of all AAA journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: late 19th century - present

More Specialized Database Lists

Books & Video

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of India

Subject Headings

It is often helpful to search by subject heading and then limit by language or time period. Below are some examples of subject headings.

Keywords

Potential keywords to search in the catalog

Social structure, social change, social organization, society, altruism and cooperation, sex roles/gender roles, stratification, family, parenting, social/group dynamics, social psychology, technology, economy, ideology, class, industry and industrial revolution, hunting, gathering, nomadic, clans, kinship, horticulture/agriculture, ethnography, ethnohistory