Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
CHEM 262L -Laboratory in Organic Chemistry: Home
NMR Spectra Source
To find the NMR spectra of an unknown substance use either
- SciFinder database and do a substance search as outlined in this tutorial. **Please note you will need to register in SciFinder to access the database**
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
- REAXYS database and do a substance search. Look it up by its CAS Registry number and from the results look in the Available Data column, you will find a link that takes you to Spectra, and then NMR.
For more information on spectroscopy and NMR spectra see this subject research guide "Spectroscopy - NMR."
Chemical Information Sources
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Online version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, a comprehensive source for chemical and physical properties data for inorganic and organic compounds
- Interactive tables and graphs
- Can be searched by structure
To find the CAS number of a molecule, look it up in the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics:
- ChemSpiderA chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) - Chem WebBookNIST provides chemical and physical property data on over 40000 compounds.
- Cambridge Structural Database• Resource for three-dimensional structural data of organic molecules
• Repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures
• Entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses
Note: Users must register for an account on the site with a UNC email.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryReference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods and environmental protection,
Natural Products
- Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
- Healthy Ingredients"Healthy Ingredients" supplies profiles of plants that include historical and current uses, modern research from human clinical studies, and the future outlook of each plant.
- American Botanical Council ResourcesA variety of information sources on herbs.
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseThe DSLD is produced by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Understanding Medicinal Plants by ISBN: 9781136614873Publication Date: 2013-01-11Learn how medicinal plants work from the chemical level upward Understanding Medicinal Plants: Their Chemistry and Therapeutic Action is designed to teach the chemical concepts necessary to understand the actions of medicinal plants to people who are intimidated by chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine New Edition by ISBN: 9780744081794Publication Date: 2023-08-29Discover how to make and use natural remedies from home-grown herbs to improve your health and wellbeing.
Careers in Chemistry
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThis is a guide to career information for many occupations including those in the Life and Physical Sciences.
Career Management for Chemists by ISBN: 9783540208990Provides common-sense and proven means to enrich and make a more rewarding technical career.
- American Chemical Society - CareersDiscover the right career choice for you by investigating the various possibilities.
- Royal Society of Chemistry - CareersA degree in chemistry is required for a wide range of careers. Explore various options by looking at the society's career website.
Writing and Citing
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).
Write Like a Chemist by ISBN: 9780195367423Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Outlines:
-
How to write an outline (video)
-
Why and how to create an outline (Purdue OWL)
Abstracts:
- UNC Writing Center - Abstracts - Excellent guide to composing abstracts. Also available as a PDF
Researching in the Sciences (videos)
Author's Guide for submitting an article to the ACS journal Analytical Chemistry
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (online)
Science Libraries Chat
Science Librarian
Therese Triumph
she/her/hers
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574ChemDraw
To request access to ChemDraw, go to the following site, login with your onyen and password, and follow the instructions. You will receive an access code via email to permit you to use the program.
Chem Draw is also available through the ITS Virtual Lab.
12 Principles of Green Chemistry
- Prevent waste
- Atom economy
- Less hazardous synthesis
- Design safer chemicals
- Safer solvents and auxiliaries
- Design for energy efficiency
- Use of renewable feedstocks
- Reduce derivatives
- Catalysis (vs. stoichiometric)
- Design for degradation
- Real-time analysis for pollution prevention
- Inherently safer chemistry for accident prevention
For more information visit American Chemical Society
Laboratory Safety Information
- UNC Department of Environment, Health and SafetyThe Chemical Safety Section works to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control personnel exposures to chemical hazards.
- MSDS plus CHEMINFOA comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene. - CCOHS Academic Support ProgramCanadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Academic Support Program provides access to the following databases and collections: MSDS: Material Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers; RTECS: Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances; CHEMINFO: Comprehensive health and safety information on pure chemicals; OSH References: OSHLINE, NIOSHTIC, NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana; FTSS: Fiche techniques sur la scurit des substances.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.